Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third/fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about: Dogs, Vampire Encounters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yan P.
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
1. When ambushed by spy, rats, or saboteur, the dogs card says that it can be discarded to discard both dogs and one of the above.

We have been a bit confused by this. Does this then cancel the spy/rats/saboteur card? Or does it simply remove it from the board, so that it cannot be used on further turns?

2. Vampire encounters remain face-up if they are not destroyed; how is combat with them handled on further turns? We've been playing that combat either resumed if the dracula player ambushed the player, or if the hunters searched the (face-up encounter) location card. Or does combat happen just like for Dracula, at dusk + dawn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joao Rodrigues
Brazil
Guarulhos
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To my understanding is:

1 - When the card is discarded, it is also canceled. The intention is for the hunters to first reveal the dogs before searching, in order to discard spy/rats/sabouteur and not discarding Dogs, but if they got ambush they can "release the dogs at them" and so the Dogs card will be discarded, along with spy/rats/saboteur, that will have no effect for this ambush.

2 - You are right. I believe it is adressed in the rulebook somewhere. The vampire remains face up in the location, with the damage token in its card indicating that the vampire is already weakened. It is also saying in the rulebook that Dracula can still ambush players with revealed encounter cards, so if any hunter goes into that city, he can get ambushed to face the vampire, just as a hunter already in that location can "search" to start (continue) combat with this vampire.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Johnnymaxx wrote:
Dracula can still ambush players with revealed encounter cards, so if any hunter goes into that city, he can get ambushed to face the vampire, just as a hunter already in that location can "search" to start (continue) combat with this vampire.

Correct, and to fully answer the original question, further combat with (non-Dracula) vampires is connected to a specific action, not automatic at dawn/dusk as with Dracula. Combat can be initiated by Dracula through an ambush after a(nother) hunter moves to the location OR by a Hunter who uses a SEARCH action at the vampire's location.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.