Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hills and -1 lore card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Valtteri Pirttilä
Finland
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

If you have a -1 lore effect played by the other player and attack uphill by a medium infantry, do you roll 2 dice or just 1?

The FAQ states that positive modifiers apply after the base 2 die limitation and that seems to imply that terrain effects are considered first, hence the 1 die.

But you could also argue that the -1 reduces the dice pool to 2, after which the "maximum of 2 dice when attacking a hill hex uphill" doesn't alter it anymore.

How would you rule it? We went for the 1 die, which was pretty crushing for the attack. Our reasoning was that the effects combine. Just because you're attacking uphill doesn't make the light shine in your eye any less (the priest spell, can't remember the name).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
vallu751 wrote:
The FAQ states that positive modifiers apply after the base 2 die limitation and that seems to imply that terrain effects are considered first, hence the 1 die.


Exactly my interpretation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Pattison
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This exact situation came up in our game two weekends ago. Was there ever an official ruling?

As Valtteri said, I could see either line of reasoning being correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Sullivan
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lore cards ALWAYS trump terrain. So yeah, one die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.