Thumb up
 Hide
71 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Christian Friendly Board/Card games? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Can someone name some for me? I am fairly new to board game world.

No magic/demons etc, for now even as bad guys.
No lying/deception as main mechanic - preferably no need to bluff either.
No glorification of evil anything - like crime etc - theme or otherwise.

things I'm not sure on yet but prefer to include in the list:
no "fantasy", sci-fi is probably OK.

As many different mechanics would be nice also because I am technically looking for inspiration on how to build one myself - especially a co-op style as I know none of those.

Thanks in advance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonard Moses II
United States
Hixson
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes I can. Hold on while I make a huge list. Lol. You think I do not choose this way already?

Morels

Orléans

Bruges

Ginkgopolis

Shipyard

Thurn and Taxis

At the Gates of Loyang

Castles of Mad King Ludwig

San Juan (second edition)

Lost Cities

Snowdonia

Power Grid

Cinque Terre

Heartland

Dilluvia Project

Takenoko

Finca

Madame Ching

The Palaces of Carrara

Ugh. I am forced to deal with the nature of competition. Even these games, due to what a game is may not be as Christian as you may understand is needed, simply because they may be teaching habits of selfishness or contention, and to be a true Christian is to give away things and to aim for all other players best interests. Which to our human minds makes for a very hard to make and or very bad game. How to measure success and to quantify sub optimal decisions? Should anyone win if everyone does not? Modern cooperative games just are not that great and are made too much alike.

Perhaps make a multiplayer solitaire, though it will never be as engaging as a real game, or maybe make a cooperative game (which are usually imo not fun).