Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race to the North Pole» Forums » Rules

Subject: FAQ for Race to the North Pole? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marcus Malden
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, is there a FAQ for Race to the North Pole? We picked up a copy in Essen and hadn't seen the game played yet, so we were left with issues for these rules:

Q: Do you fill up action cards after you check for storm, so that the hapless player to get the active players cards is left with less than three cards? (confimation question)

Q: Is the north pole disc supposed to always keep direction (unless turned by the special action token)? [1]

Q: Is it possible to make a diagonal move across the north pole when your pawn is on a space that blocks him from entering the north pole disc?

Q: Do the character traits have any meaning or is it just flavor?


[1] When we turned the board, it sometimes got stuck and turned as well and sometimes it didn't. Our playgroup thinks that because of the elevation of the center plastic piece, it should not have turned, but the rules do not mention the north pole disc that much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike B
United Kingdom
southampton
hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Dare To Roll - www.whodaresrolls.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
atog28 wrote:
Hi, is there a FAQ for Race to the North Pole? We picked up a copy in Essen and hadn't seen the game played yet, so we were left with issues for these rules:

Q: Do you fill up action cards after you check for storm, so that the hapless player to get the active players cards is left with less than three cards? (confimation question)

I've always played where we will reshuffle the discard pile once the storm deck is down to a few cards and just pop it under the stack.

Q: Is the north pole disc supposed to always keep direction (unless turned by the special action token)? [1]

Yes

Q: Is it possible to make a diagonal move across the north pole when your pawn is on a space that blocks him from entering the north pole disc?

Only with the Pickaxe.

Q: Do the character traits have any meaning or is it just flavor?

I believe that there is a plan to add extra abilities for the characters using the Dized app. In the base game these are just for flavor.

[1] When we turned the board, it sometimes got stuck and turned as well and sometimes it didn't. Our playgroup thinks that because of the elevation of the centre plastic piece, it should not have turned, but the rules do not mention the north pole disc that much.


The North Pole disc should remain stationary during any spin, it can only be moved when you use the compass.

I'm pretty certain that's all correct Tom is pretty active on here so if I've gotten anything wrong I'm sure he'll be passing and correct my blundering.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomi Vainikka
Finland
Järvenpää
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
atog28 wrote:
Hi, is there a FAQ for Race to the North Pole? We picked up a copy in Essen and hadn't seen the game played yet, so we were left with issues for these rules:

Q: Do you fill up action cards after you check for storm, so that the hapless player to get the active players cards is left with less than three cards? (confimation question)

Q: Is the north pole disc supposed to always keep direction (unless turned by the special action token)? [1]

Q: Is it possible to make a diagonal move across the north pole when your pawn is on a space that blocks him from entering the north pole disc?

Q: Do the character traits have any meaning or is it just flavor?


[1] When we turned the board, it sometimes got stuck and turned as well and sometimes it didn't. Our playgroup thinks that because of the elevation of the center plastic piece, it should not have turned, but the rules do not mention the north pole disc that much.


Hey there and thanks for the questions! Mike already answered most of them, but I'll specify a bit with the appropriate manual locations (Thanks Mike!)

1. You always -end- your turn by filling the hand that is in front of you. Not necessarily right after a storm, as you might for example play a husky afterwards. After filling your hand you cannot do anything else. So in the case of a storm someone might get a hand that is missing a card, two or even three. [3-16 in the manual].

2. The North Pole isn't supposed to rotate with the board. If it's set up on top of a soft table cloth we've noticed that there are -sometimes- small issues with this, as the pole might tag a long a little. We are looking in to increasing the height of the axle in the future pressings of the game. [2-02]

3. As Mike said: If you use a diagonal move over the North Pole disc you have to have a Pick Axe AND that would take you straight to the score card. So no. From the entrance you can enter the pole with any move. [3-13, 4-03]

4. At the moment the stickers on the meeples are for flavor. We are working on a ruleset for the Dized app that will give each role different powers and skills. We're still balancing the mechanic.

Hope this helps!

-Tomi
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Blackburn
United Kingdom
Helston
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What does hole in ice actually do?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomi Vainikka
Finland
Järvenpää
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holes in the Ice appear on the board always as a result of an ambush, thus the first function is that the player that ambushed falls through the ice and has to return to his/her ship.

Second function is that the hole stays on the board and makes that square unusable for the remainder of the game. You can pass it diagonally, but not stop on it or over it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.