Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: My Notion of Straits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Graham Greene
msg tools
I am having difficulties wrapping my head around the rules governing straits, so would appreciate it if the Triumph and Tragedy fundis could have a look at the following and advise whether it is in order.

STRAITS:
RIVAL UNOCUPPIED:
 ANS and Ground units can do Sea Movement through but can’t stop without DoW
 Can’t Strategic move through as it is not considered to be Friendly Territory (remember a strait is considered to be Coast Land)
RIVAL OCCUPIED
 Same as above
ENEMY UNOCCUPIED
 Can move through
 ANS can’t stop there as it would be considered a Raid which is only permitted if there are enemy units present
 A Ground unit can stop there which will result in the Faction that the unit belongs to establishing control over the strait
 Can’t Strategic move through as it is not considered to be Friendly Territory
ENEMY OCCUPIED
 NS units can’t move through but AF can
 NS units are obliged to stop in the area and must conduct a Raid
 A Ground unit stopping there will conduct a Sea Invasion in the Combat Phase
 Can’t Strategic move through as it is not considered to be Friendly Territory
 A Sub cannot move through as the strait is not considered to be a Sea Area
 Can’t Strategic move through as it is not considered to be Friendly Territory
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding:

Rival (occupied or unoccupied)
* Can move through but stopping requires a declaration of war (strategic or regular movement)

Enemy (occupied or unoccupied)
* Can NOT move through. (except AF)
* Units MUST stop when entering (even submarines).
* ANS CANNOT enter if unoccupied (cannot raid unoccupied territory)
* ANS *can* enter if occupied and conduct a raid (will then retreat/rebase).

So I believe you are mostly correct, except that you can strat move through a rival straight. I see no reason why you'd be able to move through regularly and not strat move through.

Also: you cannot move through unoccupied straits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The original post looks all right except that Naval, Convoys and Subs cannot move through even an unoccupied Enemy controlled Straits.

"Sea Movement entering an Enemy controlled Straits must stop." (Rule 1.3 Straits, first bullet, second sentence, page 3.)

In the rule, no distinction is drawn between occupied Enemy Straits and unoccupied Enemy Straits. Sea Movement must stop in either case.

The reason for the rule, I suppose, is that even a lightly garrisoned Enemy Straits would have mines and few patrol boats, a few aircraft, and a Sub or two. Also, it would be very strange to see an Axis Fleet cruising through the Western controlled Suez Canal.

I believe the original post is correct about Strategic Movement through Rival Straits. Rule 11.4 Strategic Movement, first paragraph, limits Strategic Movement to Friendly Territory and Open Seas. (Also Strat Moving units cannot Engage or Disengage).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bridger wrote:

So I believe you are mostly correct, except that you can strat move through a rival straight. I see no reason why you'd be able to move through regularly and not strat move through.



I'm pretty sure this was discussed elsewhere, but I can't find it.

Rules seem pretty clear that it is NOT allowed.

11.4

Units can move double their normal
movement range when they move
strictly within Friendly Territory
(1.14), including Open Seas (1.21), and
do not Engage or Disengage (11.5).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Greene
msg tools
You guys are great! Thank you very much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Schifano

St. Paul
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
11.0 MOVEMENT wrote:
...,but all units except Air Forces and Submarines must stop upon entering an Enemy-occupied Area (AFs and Subs can move through Enemy-occupied areas).


Subs can definitely bypass Enemy-occupied straits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1473468/subs-and-enemy-stra...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aram12 wrote:
Bridger wrote:

So I believe you are mostly correct, except that you can strat move through a rival straight. I see no reason why you'd be able to move through regularly and not strat move through.



I'm pretty sure this was discussed elsewhere, but I can't find it.

Rules seem pretty clear that it is NOT allowed.

11.4

Units can move double their normal
movement range when they move
strictly within Friendly Territory
(1.14), including Open Seas (1.21), and
do not Engage or Disengage (11.5).


It's pretty clear to me the intent of the rule is to allow units to move through rival and neutral straits freely. Strategic movement through straights is consistent with this.

Why would the Italian fleet be slowed down when traveling through gibralter and at peace with the UK but the UK fleet could move through at full steam? It simply doesn't make sense when you try to intepret it that strictly. Straights are friendly territory for movement *through* when controled by rivals or neutrals. That is the purpose of the rule. If it's not I'll eat my hat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Link to answer for future browsers.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1481617/strategic-move-thro...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.