Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fire & Axe: A Viking Saga» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Rune card questions on the new Padasauras version rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Flynn
United States
Orland Park
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Comparing the previous version with the latest rune cards...
1. Poor seamanship/Lost at Sea
The new version allows moving a longship to Homeland in addition to
an adjacent water space or port.
Just checking to verify the card is not a misprint.

2. Not Welcome Here
The previous version removes a crewmember from a longship in port
on a roll that is not greater than the port value. The new version
removes a crewmember that is lower than the port value. This gives
a greater chance of survival. Is this a misprint or a change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Those all sound like little changes.

Having played the new version, I do not like that you can sail back to a Homeland. A player in our last session used it to very gamey effect. The player had a full hand of three cards when ready to sail from a Homeland from a previous turn. Not liking the new game state when their turn came back around, the player moved out (1 day) spent all three cards at sea, moved back to the Homeland just exited (1 day), drew three more Rune cards (3 days), moved back out to sea (1 day) and played all three of those, and then returned to the Homeland again! (1 day, 7 total!).

Six Rune cards played in one turn and back in the home port!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BradyLS wrote:
Those all sound like little changes.

Having played the new version, I do not like that you can sail back to a Homeland. A player in our last session used it to very gamey effect. The player had a full hand of three cards when ready to sail from a Homeland from a previous turn. Not liking the new game state when their turn came back around, the player moved out (1 day) spent all three cards at sea, moved back to the Homeland just exited (1 day), drew three more Rune cards (3 days), moved back out to sea (1 day) and played all three of those, and then returned to the Homeland again! (1 day, 7 total!).

Six Rune cards played in one turn and back in the home port!


The Asmodee edition also allowed for this.

Most Rune cards are quite situational. So the odds of all six being played to full effect are pretty slim. Also, consider that the players spent the whole turn doing nothing other than drawing and playing cards which in and of itself does not really gain you any points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
So it goes
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
If you can't walk, crawl. If you can't crawl..... well, you know the rest.
badge
Any game is the right game with the right crowd.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gert74 wrote:

The Asmodee edition also allowed for this.


Indeed it does if you take a day and sail back to a Homeland, but the Rune card in the IDW version let's you return to a Homeland without burning a day whereas the Asmodee version did not. It's not a huge edge but it's still a change, but you are right in that the Rune cards are situational. In the IDW edition that extra day could make a difference in a close game depending on the card and how the game played out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.