Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Ghostbusters: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Only using 1 action on turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Sumski
United States
Elmwood Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say under Ghostbuster Turn Sequence that on a Ghostbuster's turn, "spend all of your actions during your turn." Can a Ghostbuster choose to do only 1 and burn the other action(s) or must he/she use all available actions that turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You can pass.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Dale
United Kingdom
Loughborough
Leicestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Matt Hyra wrote:
You can pass.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D


If ever an answer to a rules question was as ambiguous as the rule appears to be to the OP..... whistle

To be clear, the OP is asking whether a GB can take a single action and choose not to take any additional actions. Could you clarify your reply please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Harmer-Barnes
United Kingdom
Rainham
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see how "You can pass" is ambiguous.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
andrewmdale wrote:
Matt Hyra wrote:
You can pass.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D


If ever an answer to a rules question was as ambiguous as the rule appears to be to the OP..... whistle

To be clear, the OP is asking whether a GB can take a single action and choose not to take any additional actions. Could you clarify your reply please?


Let me clarify: You. Can. Pass.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You can also decline to use subsequent Actions.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Harmer-Barnes
United Kingdom
Rainham
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But can you pass?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reed Dawley
United States
Delmar
New York
flag msg tools
Playing more games is better!
badge
Collecting games is not playing games!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
YOU SHALL NOT PASS!

I mean, you can pass, technically...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Dale
United Kingdom
Loughborough
Leicestershire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Matt Hyra wrote:
You can also decline to use subsequent Actions.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D


Thank you. That's what I was getting at.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Harmer-Barnes
United Kingdom
Rainham
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is that the same as passing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BradH wrote:
I don't see how "You can pass" is ambiguous.

In fairness, in many games "pass" refers specifically to skipping an entire turn.
What we want here is "You do not need to spend all your actions".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StormKnight wrote:
BradH wrote:
I don't see how "You can pass" is ambiguous.

In fairness, in many games "pass" refers specifically to skipping an entire turn.
What we want here is "You do not need to spend all your actions".


Pretty sure that is what this means:

Matt Hyra wrote:
You can also decline to use subsequent Actions.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
reverendunclebastard wrote:
StormKnight wrote:
[q="BradH"]I don't see how "You can pass" is ambiguous.

In fairness, in many games "pass" refers specifically to skipping an entire turn.
What we want here is "You do not need to spend all your actions".


Quote:
Pretty sure that is what this means:

Matt Hyra wrote:
You can also decline to use subsequent Actions.

Well, that one would strongly imply that you must take at least 1 action.

Granted, its hard to imagine a situation in which you would WANT to skill all your actions...but it could happen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Hyra
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You may skip any number of Actions during your turn.

Thanks,
Matt Hyra
Cryptozoic R&D
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.