Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Francis Drake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hero's bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rudy priecinsky
Slovakia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I eligible to Hero's bonus if my ship returns 3rd but 1st and 2nd ship does not meet condition to get bonus (they don't successfully attacked town/fort/galleon) ? All ships came before they used their 4th Disc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook Page 11 F. RETURNING TO PLYMOUTH wrote:
• Players returning to Plymouth early (before they have used their 4th Disc) receive a “hero’s bonus”: The first player back gets 2 VP and the second player gets 1VP, so long as they successfully attacked at least 1 Town, Fort or Galleon on their voyage.


Based on that I would say that the third player cannot get it. Only the first and second ship would get a bonus if they are eligibile.

This is a very fringe case however, I don't recall ever seeing somebody not attack the Spanish on a voyage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Brown
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
There is no reason to have two A's at the beginning of aardvark. I simply won't do it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had a strategy one game to go hard at the goods for turn one and return early to get good positioning. I did have an attack setup for my fourth disk but realized I wasn't going to be able to complete it so I went back early. No bonus for me.

Anyways, I agree that the third person would not get the bonus. They have not met both conditions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hawes
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Although I agree with what Andrew and Chris have said above, if you interpret the rules literally, I would give the 3rd player home the bonus. The intent of the rule as written was the first player home, who attacked the Spanish gets 2 VP and the 2nd player home (who attacked the Spanish) would get 1 VP. The way the rule is written was meant to infer the first 2 players home who had attacked the Spanish. It was written a little clumsily, sorry.

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Brown
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
There is no reason to have two A's at the beginning of aardvark. I simply won't do it.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for dropping by Peter! The situation doesn't happen often but it's nice to know the real answer. Still loving this game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
raist anient
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Peter Hawes wrote:
Although I agree with what Andrew and Chris have said above, if you interpret the rules literally, I would give the 3rd player home the bonus. The intent of the rule as written was the first player home, who attacked the Spanish gets 2 VP and the 2nd player home (who attacked the Spanish) would get 1 VP. The way the rule is written was meant to infer the first 2 players home who had attacked the Spanish. It was written a little clumsily, sorry.



Hey, just to confirm -- not only must they have attached the Spanish, they must also not have used up their 4th disk, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.