John Weber
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After having studied the rules, FAQ, solitaired a few games, I have a few remaining questions (many others have already been answered):

1. If a ruler who is also an army leader is captured in combat by another power, does that ruler's country still benefit from his administrative and card bonus ratings even those he is being held for ransom by another power?

2. If the English player successfully besieges Edinburgh, can the English player rebuild Scottish units and the Scottish naval unit in a future turn? Would the answer differ if Scotland were a French minor ally at the time of the conquest?

3. Protestants convert an electorate early in the game -- 1517 scenario (pre-Schmalkaldic League) -- and move the Protestant military units from the electorate display to the map. The Papal player converts the space back to Catholic influence through a successful counter-reformation as result of book burning or theological debate. Do the Protestant troops remain on the map?

4. Can CPs be used to build units, march them into a siege situation, and be counted in the siege combat in the same impulse (assuming sufficient CPs are available and that the siege situation was created in a prior impulse of that same power)?

5. If Catholic forces are besieging a space including Protestant forces, do both sides get the bonus (an extra die) for a Reformation/Counter-Reformation attempt in an adjacent space? Similarly, if a Protestant Reformer is present in a space that is under siege, does his bonus count as being adjacent or not?

6. Piracy questions: Must the designated target be a major power or can it be an unaligned minor power? Can the target be a minor ally of a a major power? As long as the target (the major power or its ally) controls at least one adjacent port, does it matter whether that power (or its ally) has no ships in or adjacent to the targeted sea zone?

Card Questions/Clarifications:

1. Papal Home Card "Leipzig Debate" (Card #6): Does the theological debate using the benefits of this card have to take place in the Germanic language zone (as implied by the name) or can it take place in any language zone?

3. Andrea Doria (Card #68): Am I correct that this card is useless as an event unless Genoa has been activated at some earlier point in the game (presumably through Diplomatic Marriage or some alliance after Genoa was attacked by another major power)?

3. John Zapolya (Card #83): Does the "if Buda space is not under siege" language apply only to the first sentence but also to the second sentence (where the regulars would be added to Hungarian forces there as opposed to an occupying major power)?

4. Scots Raid (Card #97): Are the Scots units added to the map based on the die roll in the second sentence prior to making the subtraction in the third sentence? If there are English units in Edinburgh, does any combat take place before or after the builds in the next to last sentence?

Thanks in advance for the answers.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Landes
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: A few More Questions
Quote:


1. If a ruler who is also an army leader is captured in combat by another power, does that ruler's country still benefit from his administrative and card bonus ratings even those he is being held for ransom by another power?


Yes.

Quote:
2. If the English player successfully besieges Edinburgh, can the English player rebuild Scottish units and the Scottish naval unit in a future turn? Would the answer differ if Scotland were a French minor ally at the time of the conquest?


Controlling Edinburgh does not equate to allying with Scotland as a minor power. So, I would say no - England cannot build Scottish units unless they activate Scotland as a minor ally.

Quote:
3. Protestants convert an electorate early in the game -- 1517 scenario (pre-Schmalkaldic League) -- and move the Protestant military units from the electorate display to the map. The Papal player converts the space back to Catholic influence through a successful counter-reformation as result of book burning or theological debate. Do the Protestant troops remain on the map?


Yes.

Quote:
4. Can CPs be used to build units, march them into a siege situation, and be counted in the siege combat in the same impulse (assuming sufficient CPs are available and that the siege situation was created in a prior impulse of that same power)?


Yes.

Quote:
5. If Catholic forces are besieging a space including Protestant forces, do both sides get the bonus (an extra die) for a Reformation/Counter-Reformation attempt in an adjacent space? Similarly, if a Protestant Reformer is present in a space that is under siege, does his bonus count as being adjacent or not?


Now THAT's a good question. The word "siege" does not appear in the reformation rules, but armies under siege specifically DO count in the control and unrest rules. I would say that you ignore siege state when performing (counter)reformation rolls. Ed?

Quote:
6. Piracy questions: Must the designated target be a major power or can it be an unaligned minor power? Can the target be a minor ally of a a major power? As long as the target (the major power or its ally) controls at least one adjacent port, does it matter whether that power (or its ally) has no ships in or adjacent to the targeted sea zone?


I believe the target has to be a major power or a minor controlled by a major. (Main reason here, is that the targeted power chooses what to give up as piracy booty.) The target does not need to have ships near the sea zone under attack. And, in fact, it's better for the Ottomans if they don't.

Quote:
Card Questions/Clarifications:

1. Papal Home Card "Leipzig Debate" (Card #6): Does the theological debate using the benefits of this card have to take place in the Germanic language zone (as implied by the name) or can it take place in any language zone?


Any zone.

Quote:
2. Andrea Doria (Card #68): Am I correct that this card is useless as an event unless Genoa has been activated at some earlier point in the game (presumably through Diplomatic Marriage or some alliance after Genoa was attacked by another major power)?


No. Andrea Doria activates Genoa if it hasn't been activated.

Quote:
3. John Zapolya (Card #83): Does the "if Buda space is not under siege" language apply only to the first sentence but also to the second sentence (where the regulars would be added to Hungarian forces there as opposed to an occupying major power)?


I don't believe so. Never seen it tried, though.

Quote:
4. Scots Raid (Card #97): Are the Scots units added to the map based on the die roll in the second sentence prior to making the subtraction in the third sentence? If there are English units in Edinburgh, does any combat take place before or after the builds in the next to last sentence?


Part 1: No. Roll a die, subtract the number of qualifying English units. If that final number is 4 or higher, draw a card from the English hand and spend its OPs points on building Scottish units in Edinburgh. Any resulting combat should take place _after_ all units are placed.

Ed - please correct me if I've missed any of these. Many are situations I've never seen come up. (Particularly the English building Scottish units bits - why?)

Quote:
Thanks in advance for the answers.


You're welcome! Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Re: A few More Questions
1. Yes. Look at his ruler capabilities as also accounting for the abilities of his advisors, council, etc.

2. The English can only (re)build Scottish units if the Scots became an English ally through play of the event Diplomatic Marriage. All other situations represent the English will being imposed on Scotland and Scottish troops wouldn't be willing to fight for the southern neighbor in those other caes.

3. Yes, though if the space remains under Catholic religious influence when the Schmalkaldic League is formed, then these units will be displaced to another electorate.

4. Yes.

5. Yes, in all of these cases these modifiers still apply.

6. The target for piracy must always be a Major Power. The presence (or absence) of naval units from the target power does not affect whether or not piracy can be attempted (the only affect is to both give a die roll against the pirates and to add an option if that power then suffers a piracy hit).

Card Questions/Clarifications:

1. Any language zone is fine.

2. You can play it as an event if Genoa is still unaligned. In that case the text about deactivating them is ignored (not it is not in italics like the conditions for play on all of the cards).

3. The "if Buda space is not under siege" language applies in all cases.

4. You have to perform the entire arithmetic calculation (including subtracting off the English units in the specified spaces) before seeing if the resulting number is 4 or higher. If so, Scottish forces are added to the map (based on the number of CP on the card drawn at random from the English player). It is unlikely that this card can be played successfully if the English have Edinburgh under siege. However, in that unlikely event, Scottish units are added inside the fortifications. If that brings the number of units inside Edinburgh to more than 4, I'd say an immediate land battle is resolved.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Koehler
United States
Waxhaw
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: A few More Questions
In no. 3, does that mean the a later reformation attempt in that space gets +2 dice for having a stack in the space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Koehler
United States
Waxhaw
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: A few More Questions
In no. 3, does that mean the a later reformation attempt in that space gets +2 dice for having a stack in the space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Re: A few More Questions
Yes it does since that stack is present. Look at it is Luther having gained the support of the local princes of that area. With their support, a little extra pressure gets applied to the locals of the area to also switch to Protestantism.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.