Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » General

Subject: Anything I need doubles of? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Crane
United States
WASHOUGAL
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought I read awhile back that you could use doubles of two packs so you can have the elites and normal's out. Just can't remember which two they were.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damian Kalisz
Poland
Wroclaw
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rebel troopers and rebel saboteurs imho.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only for skirmish.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the campaign, if you ever receive a second reward for an ally that has a Normal and an Elite, you can then choose to bring the Elites on further missions (where-as normally you can only bring the Normal versions). It think right now, only the Rebel Troopers are offered as rewards on two different side missions. All other allies are offered only once.

-shnar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the campaign rebels can still bring only upto one ally into a mission, so you can't take both elites and regulars.

Technically you can win Rebel Troopers from Friends of Old, then take them as allies into Brace for Impact which already has the rebels control them at no cost (because setup rules do not prevent you from taking the Rebel Troopers as allies you can have two regulars there). If you win Brace for Impact too you have access to the Elite version too. Afterwards you can take either regular or elite Rebel Troopers as allies, but not both.

And you can not legally include two missions that reward the Rebel Saboteurs into the side mission deck, so you can't currently win the elite version.

For the imperial side you are generally limited to the number of figures found in the core game and one of each expansion. Hired Guns limits you to the deployment cards in that expansion, so you can have both regular and elite in the same mission, and would thus need two packs worth of figures or use tokens for the other pair.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Grouch
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:

And you can not legally include two missions that reward the Rebel Saboteurs into the side mission deck, so you can't currently win the elite version.

Can you please cite the reasoning for this statement? Am sure you are correct, but would appreciate the details.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bill_andel wrote:
Can you please cite the reasoning for this statement? Am sure you are correct, but would appreciate the details.

Side missions granting Rebel Saboteurs are both green side missions and you can't include more than one green side mission with the same reward.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
bill_andel wrote:
Can you please cite the reasoning for this statement? Am sure you are correct, but would appreciate the details.

Side missions granting Rebel Saboteurs are both green side missions and you can't include more than one green side mission with the same reward.

While this is true, one of the Red Missions (Gideon's "Friends of Old") also grants Rebel Troopers as a reward. See page 11, Gideon receives the "Fearless Leader" Reward card. Heroes receive Rebel Troopers as allies." The restriction is only on the Green side mission cards. So if you are playing with Gideon, the Rebels can chose one of the Rebel Trooper green cards to include in their Side Mission deck. If they do, they can win two copies of the Rebel Troopers, and thus could then include the Elite versions of the troopers.

-shnar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While that is true, I already said that about Rebel Troopers in the post a few posts above that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh sorry, for some reason I read that as if you brought Rebel Allies into the mission, not if the Rebels won both missions. Carry on

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No worries.

You can of course win elite Rebel Troopers if you win both Friends of Old and Brace for Impact in any order, but bringing Rebel Troopers as allies into Brace for Impact is the only way to have two Rebel Troopers groups in any mission.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Grouch
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.