Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Flick 'em Up!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hostage Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the hostage rule it says that the hostage is attached to the cowboy and moves with it. How does that work?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Hamrick
United States
Rocky Mount
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "hostage" (captured cowboy meeple) is set aside, and the Cowboy who captured him is given the "hostage token" which he places in on one of the 2 slots that the cowboy has to carry things. This token represents the hostage. The actual "hostage meeple" does not literally follow him on the table, but is considered to be with him as per the hostage token carried by the Cowboy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Derksen
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
designer
armoredgear7.net
badge
Heroes of the Aturi Cluster dockingbay416.com/campaign
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Frank Hamrick wrote:
The "hostage" (captured cowboy meeple) is set aside, and the Cowboy who captured him is given the "hostage token" which he places in on one of the 2 slots that the cowboy has to carry things. This token represents the hostage. The actual "hostage meeple" does not literally follow him on the table, but is considered to be with him as per the hostage token carried by the Cowboy.


This post from the game's designer contradicts your answer.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Frank Hamrick wrote:
The "hostage" (captured cowboy meeple) is set aside, and the Cowboy who captured him is given the "hostage token" which he places in on one of the 2 slots that the cowboy has to carry things. This token represents the hostage. The actual "hostage meeple" does not literally follow him on the table, but is considered to be with him as per the hostage token carried by the Cowboy.


This interpretation would make sense to me.

What the designer wrote wouldn't seem to make sense. Can you see putting the hostage directly in front of the outlaw. It would be VERY difficult to knock down the outlaw without knocking down the hostage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Robinson
England
Rotherham
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
I fight lost wars, see light, fear sight
badge
I open my mind, need flesh, fear mine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sgraber wrote:
Frank Hamrick wrote:
The "hostage" (captured cowboy meeple) is set aside, and the Cowboy who captured him is given the "hostage token" which he places in on one of the 2 slots that the cowboy has to carry things. This token represents the hostage. The actual "hostage meeple" does not literally follow him on the table, but is considered to be with him as per the hostage token carried by the Cowboy.


This interpretation would make sense to me.

What the designer wrote wouldn't seem to make sense. Can you see putting the hostage directly in front of the outlaw. It would be VERY difficult to knock down the outlaw without knocking down the hostage.


...unless you performed a move action first.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So with outlaw and hostage back to back you don't have any trouble picking off the outlaw? To even have a chance, seems like you'd have to be to the side, and then pick off only the one. Sounds like a very tough shot to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patty Pilf
Finland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Frank Hamrick wrote:
The "hostage" (captured cowboy meeple) is set aside, and the Cowboy who captured him is given the "hostage token" which he places in on one of the 2 slots that the cowboy has to carry things. This token represents the hostage. The actual "hostage meeple" does not literally follow him on the table, but is considered to be with him as per the hostage token carried by the Cowboy.


According to the rules your interpretation is way off the mark. What's the point in the wooden Hostage meeples being included in the game?!?!?!

Rulebook wrote:
When a player reveals the hostage token, he places the pink neutral figure (the daughter) in the building with the cowboy who found her. The hostage token is then removed from the game.


Rulebook wrote:
A hostage figure (here, the daughter) is considered to be attached to the cowboy escorting her. As such, when that cowboy performs a Move action, the hostage moves with it.


sgraber wrote:
So with outlaw and hostage back to back you don't have any trouble picking off the outlaw? To even have a chance, seems like you'd have to be to the side, and then pick off only the one. Sounds like a very tough shot to me.


Do you honestly think this will be a tough shot every time for this scenario? TBH it's not difficult at all in most situations. Like previously mentioned, flick far enough to get a shot at the Cowboy from the other side. It doesn't matter if the Hostage falls over 'after' hitting the Cowboy. It's still a hit. Only the first thing hit counts.

From a duel position, regardless of distance), I can hit the cowboy behind the Hostage (with two actions) 8/10 times on average.

Another thing you seem to be overlooking is - the brims of the hats touch. Automatically make for a distance of around a Cowboy thickness between the pieces, so they're not even flush against each other.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kerrin 2
United States
Canandaigua
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Doesn't the cowboy have to fall over for it to count as a hit?

I'd think it would take a marginally larger amount of force to accomplish this if there is another meeple right up against his back?

(I don't know as I haven't tried, just guessing)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Graber
United States
Louisville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I see now. I was forgetting that only the first figure hit counts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patty Pilf
Finland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Kerrin2 wrote:
Doesn't the cowboy have to fall over for it to count as a hit?

I'd think it would take a marginally larger amount of force to accomplish this if there is another meeple right up against his back?

(I don't know as I haven't tried, just guessing)


Like I mentioned in my previous post, you can't place another meeple 'right up against his back', as the hat brims keep them somewhat apart.

As for force, you flick as hard as is necessary.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.