Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Quatre Batailles en Espagne» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disorganisation and Retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I correct in saying that there is a general rule that when a unit becomes Disorganised it always Retreats two hexes? This is explicitly stated for combat results and morale checks but not for overstacking.

So if unit A Retreats into unit B's hex and causes overstacking, unit B becomes Disorganised AND Retreats two hexes.

5.1 says that if B was already Disorganised the whole stack executes an 'extra' one or two hex retreat, 'see 8.9'.

a) Presumably 'the whole stack' doesn't include unit A, otherwise they would still be overstacked.

b) 8.9 doesn't say anything about one hex Retreats.

If unit B was only one hex behind A, does A Retreat its second hex AFTER any Retreat required by B?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Didier Rouy
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
Some resolutions might be tricky, I suggest you proceed hex by hex and not unit per unit :

- Retreat A one hex first. If all is well, then retreat another hex.
- If on this hex there is a unit in good order, then it checks morale. Let's say it becomes D (if it passes hte morale check, it just stays where it is).
- If there is overstack, keep moving A one hex.
- Then move B two hexes as it just became D.
- If there is no overstack, move A and B a hex, hen B another hex (is it must move 2).

So, proceed hex by hex, and see if it clarifies your situation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Didier Rouy wrote:

- If there is overstack, keep moving A one hex.
- Then move B two hexes as it just became D.


But doesn't it make more sense to move B first, else it could end up moving into the same hex as A again, causing A to check morale.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Didier Rouy
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
So there are different situations. If there is overstack, all the pile becomes D and then you have to solve the overstack, which is by moving units. If A caused the overstack during its retreat, it moves an extra hex. Then as B became D (because of overstack), then B retreats 2 hexes. If B passes over A, as both are already D there is no further morale check, B keeps retreating one hex to comply with the stacking rules, and because a D unit retreats 2 hexes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.