Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Il Vecchio» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Il Vecchio Event and Additional cost tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yves St-Denis
Switzerland
Basel
BS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have started playing this game recently, and have one question concerning the correct order of events when the first Medici crest is taken:

1- The green player places a family member on the fourth space of the Nobility track (where a Medici crest is depicted)
2- As per the rules, the crest is picked up and the Il Vecchio Event is carried out immediately
3- As this is the first Medici crest picked up, the Additional Cost tile is then moved from the City Council pile to the Nobility pile
4- The green player now needs to pay 3 florins (as the Additional Cost tile has moved), take 5 Nobility tiles and choose one.

Question: If the green player needed to pay 3 florins as part of the Il Vecchio Event, and has no money left, he cannot take the Nobility tile. Correct?

Thanks for your help!

Yves
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ode.
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

please take a look at page 5 Chapter C in the rule book. The steps you take are listed here:

1. Pay 2 scrolls
2. Place the family member
3. Pay the cost for the additional cost token if the token is present on the corresponding stack.
4. Carry out the event for a Medici crest.
And so on...

So, in your particular case the additional cost need to be payed before carrying out the event. And since the additional cost marker is shifted after carrying out the event, all ssems to be clear by follwong the steps in the rule book...

Hope that is right. It's been awhile since I last played the game... Hopefully Ralph (editor) will weigh in... But follwing the rules this should be right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves St-Denis
Switzerland
Basel
BS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for your help Andreas!

We were confused by the fact that, indeed, the third bullet point tells you to pay 3 florins IF the additional cost token is present (and it is not at that particular moment), but by the time your get to the fifth bullet point "Take 5 tiles from the top....", the additional cost token has moved due to the "special case" of the first Il Vecchio Event.
Because you do not take the Nobility tiles immediately, but only after the Il Vecchio Event is concluded, it is just strange that you do not have to pay even if the Additional cost token is now on top of that pile of tiles.

Cheers!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.