Subject: Whitelist of users who can add a new game without moderation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On this thread where FiveStars is adding various abstract strategy games to BGG I wrote:

zabdiel wrote:
FiveStars wrote:
There are another 20 abstract strategy games that are beautiful and deep, which I want to submit in the next weeks months (because it takes so long to approve the games here at BGG).

It would be nice if BGG could whitelist certain users so their game additions didn't need to be moderated. I'd guess they could reduce the moderation queue a reasonable amount by doing that.

Not being an admin I don't know exactly how the "Create Board Game" moderation process works and don't I don't know know how many users create games - however I'd guess the 80/20 rule might apply where 80% of games are added by 20% of the users who have ever added a game. My guess is that if BGG white-listed anyone who had added a few games to the database and allowed any games submissions from those users without moderation (or with a much reduced level of moderation) it reduce the moderation queue a reasonable amount without any negative consequences.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
"that's a smith and wesson, and you've had your six"
mbmbmb
Well, usually if a new game is added, it has probably been added by several people already, and is just in the queue waiting to be moderated. SO if we have "white-list" users, what ends up happening is that the fairness of other people adding games first being pre-empted by one of the white list users would make for a very poor user experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MWChapel wrote:
Well, usually if a new game is added, it has probably been added by several people already, and is just in the queue waiting to be moderated.