Recommend
39 
 Thumb up
 Hide
108 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 

Warhammer Quest: The Adventure Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unofficial FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will no longer be updating the answers in this thread.
Instead, please see the unofficial FAQ document, linked below. It is formatted much more nicely, can be printed, etc.

Unofficial FAQ PDF



Well, a lot of people have been asking for one, so I thought I'd give it a go! I will be updating and adding to this initial post as more questions come up and as questions are answered.


UNRESOLVED RULES

With the Night Cloak (cannot receive conditions), can a hero choose to resolve an effect that requires taking a condition as its cost? As an example, with Nunkel's nemesis ability (discard a success token OR become sickened), would a player with the night cloak HAVE to discard a success token, or could they choose the other option, even though they cannot become sickened?

Similarly, if a hero is ALREADY sickened, and they have a success token, can they choose the second option on Nunkel's power, or do they have to discard the success token?

If a hero draws a legendary fortune card, but doesn't want to get a legendary gear card (or already has all 3 of their cards), can they choose to discard the legendary fortune card, allowing another hero to draw it from the discard pile later?

The campaign sheet only shows a maximum gear limit of 4? Is this a true limit? Is there a reason why a player can't increase their gear limit to 5 (done by increasing every time, after quests 1-4)?

For dungeon cards in the campaign pool (such as the warpstone), do they get removed from the campaign pool if they are in the discard pile after a quest is completed?

Similarly, if a campaign pool nemesis is discarded but not defeated (by traveling while they are facedown in the shadow zone), do they go back in the campaign pool?

During the settlement stage, is it possible to trade or discard gear that has been depleted or that adds health? Can you trade it during step 3 of the stage, when gear is flipped over and health is restored?

Can shield results be used to prevent wounds caused by nemesis results?

ELFCAP FUNGUS - When does this give you a free action? Do you need to roll ONLY a single success (giving you a 1/3 chance), any success (2/3 chance), or any success OR a critical (5/6 chance)?

QUEST TWO - How many cards are shuffled with the warpstone? Two plus the warpstone (making it 1st to 3rd card on the deck) or three plus the warpstone (making it 1st to 4th on the deck)?

SLEEPING WARREN - If this is the first location revealed at the beginning of the game, are the heroes traveling to the location? Does its power get activated?

DELVE QUEST - This quest needs an errata. As it stands now, there is nothing in the game forcing the heroes to progress, unlike every other quest in the game.
A winning strategy is to stay at the very first location, defeat all the enemies, and then wait for nemeses, defeating them as they spawn. Yes, the abomination is tough to kill, but with all the heroes working together it isn't too hard (especially with the waywatcher who can do automatic damage and make him retreat).
This also takes away the danger of discarding tier 1 and 2 enemies, because most of them will still be in the deck, and not in the discard pile.
The solution seems to be to make a failure condition that the peril marker reaches the red space a second time. We need an official ruling on this.

NEW
If you are defeated, the rules say you get to finish your activation. Can you also use an item that works “after your activation?” Can you fire a final gunshot, or use a potion to heal yourself out of being defeated?

When is Snak Kraggle’s resilience calculated? If I do a multi-target attack, including Snak Kraggle, and defeat some other readied enemies, do they could for his resilience? Basically, is the damage simultaneous or decided in the order I choose?



GAME SET-UP
What is the importance of the roman numeral tiers on locations and enemies?
When building the enemy and location deck, you take specifically indicated enemy groups and locations. But for anything that is an "open" enemy or location, it must be drawn from the tier of the quest. So, in quest 1 for example, while some of the pre-set enemies are tier 2, all of the open enemies will be random tier 1 enemies.


DECK RESHUFFLING
When are the dungeon and gear decks reshuffled?
The dungeon deck and gear deck are never reshuffled... once you run out of cards, you can still explore, but you won't draw a dungeon card. If you run out of gear, you can only take gear from the discard pile.
This also prevents you from going to the blacksmith back in the settlement if the gear deck is empty... the blacksmith will not allow you to draw from the discard pile.

What about the enemy deck?
It is shuffled if the deck is empty when you need to draw an enemy.


RESOLVING ACTIONS - ROLLING THE DICE
What happens if I roll a critical success?
You get a success (you can track it with a spare token), and you re-roll that die. This can go on forever.

What is the order I resolve the stuff on my hero's action card?
Resolve them starting top...to bottom

How many black dice do I roll...and how many enemies attack me?
0-3 depending on the number of READIED enemies engaged with YOUR HERO. For each attack icon (claw) rolled, one engaged readied enemy attacks the acting hero. Start with the readied engaged enemy with the highest attack value, and proceed down if you rolled multiple claws.

So if I am engaged with a 4 attack skeleton horde, and a 2 attack spider, and the horde is exhausted, does a claw roll cause me 2 damage or 4?
Only READIED enemies can deal damage with a claw result. So in this case, you would only take 2 damage (the highest damage out of the readied enemies engaged with you.

Do I only roll the black dice for attack actions?
No. You roll them for EVERY action you take, IF unexhausted enemies are engaged with you.

What is the order I resolve the black and white dice?
You resolve the successes first. Then the monster attacks and shields are resolved.

Do shields cancel out the claw die entirely or just one damage as a result of the claw die?
Each shield result cancels just one damage, not an entire claw.

Does the die with both shield & success count as both or do I have to choose?
It counts as both.

Can I bundle a ton of success tokens on a hero's explore/attack/aid/rest card...so I can throw a firestorm +15?
No... each action can hold a maximum of 2 success tokens, although there is a wizard item to increase it to a max of 3.

If an ability says to discard a success token, where does that token come from?
Unless specifically indicated, the success token can come from ANY of your four action cards, even if that is not the action you are currently resolving.


READYING AND EXHAUSTING ACTIONS
If an effect tells me to exhaust an action, can I choose to exhaust my Prepare action (the one with the circling arrows)?
No. This action can never be exhausted, and cannot be used to pay costs that require exhausting.

Do I ready all of my action cards at the end of each turn?
You do not. After you activate your Prepare action, you will ready all of your action cards. You can also ready one action card when you are targeted by another hero’s aid action.


ENGAGING ENEMIES
Who can I engage?
Any enemy, including enemies in the shadows or engaged with another hero, unless a power indicated differently (like the Jezzail Team).

Can you engage and/or attack exhausted enemies?
Yep, you can indeed engage and attack exhausted enemies.

Is it possible to engage monsters in the shadow zone if the hero doesn't have a ranged attack?
You do not need to have a ranged attack in order to ENGAGE enemies in the shadows, but you do need a ranged action to ATTACK them while in the shadow zone. If you are a melee attacker, engage them first (your attack action allows this), and THEN target them for the attack.

Does an enemy in the shadows engage me if I shoot (or fireball) it?
A facedown or faceup enemy in the shadows does not engage as a response for being targeted or damaged.


ATTACK ACTIONS
If I kill the enemy on my attack and roll a black attack icon (claw symbol), does it still damage me?
Yes, you move onto the compare damage dealt to shields step and take the damage. The enemy gets a parting shot.

What if I deal damage to a skeleton horde? Does it deal its standard damage or the reduced amount?
It deals the reduced amount, which could be 0 if you fully defeated them. Remember, hero successes are applied first. So in this single case, defeating them actually will prevent their damage.

If I attack a facedown/face-up enemy not engaged with the active hero - do I roll black die?
You roll black dice for readied enemies engaged with YOU. The other hero's enemies don't affect you.

If I targeted 2 or more enemies, do I have to damage all of them?
You can assign the damage to the target enemies however you like. All damage on one or split between the targets.

If I target a facedown enemy, can I turn it face up before assigning damage to help decide how to assign the damage?
No -- Damage is assigned all at once, between the chosen targets. Players cannot assign damage incrementally to their benefit.

If I deal 1 damage to a facedown enemy, and when I flip him he has 1 resilience, how much damage does he take? And does he flip back down?
He takes 0 damage, since his 1 resilience cancels your 1 attack. But he stays face-up... enemies do not ever flip back facedown unless otherwise indicated by a special power.

If I exhaust a facedown enemy in the shadows, do I flip it up?
No -- enemies reveal when they are engaged, damaged or activated.

Can I ranged attack while using a melee weapon (gear)?
Yes. But note that using the special powers on melee weapons will generally indicate that it must be used against an enemy you are engaged with. So check the rules for the gear carefully.

Can the Waywatcher attack when there are no enemies, so she can ready her other actions?
Yes. Heroes can always take the ready action of their choice. You can attack with no enemies, rest if you are not wounded, explore even if the location is fully explored...


RESILIENCE
Is resilience subtracted from the FIRST attack in a round?
It is subtracted from EVERY attack against the enemy. Their armor does not go away!

What about abilities that say to deal a wound, like the Waywatcher's aid action or the Cannon?
These abilities ignore resilience, so simply add the wound or wounds to the enemy.


REST ACTION
If I rest and roll some successes, but a monster also attacks me, do I take damage before I heal?
Nope. See above. You apply your successes (and heal) before taking damage.


EXPLORE ACTION
What happens when the dungeon deck is expended?
As noted above, if the dungeon deck is expended, the party cannot draw any more dungeon cards during the current quest. But you can still take the explore action as normal.


ENEMY PHASE?
Can you summarize how activating enemies works?
All enemies that are ready (not exhausted) will activate.
Heroes take turns activating one enemy, starting with the torchbearer.
Here's a simple step-by-step for activating these enemies.
- Are you engaged with one or more ready (non-exhausted) enemies? If so, pick one of them to exhaust and resolve their abilities.
- If you aren't engaged with any enemies (or they are all exhausted), pick a ready (non-exhausted) enemy in the shadow zone, exhaust him, and resolve his abilities. If he is facedown, flip him face-up first.
- If all of the enemies in the shadow zone and engaged with you are exhausted, skip your turn in the activation order.
- You will NEVER activate an enemy who is engaged with another hero.

So the enemies attack me while I'm doing my actions, and then attack me again (in the enemy phase) and do unblockable damage?!
Well...not always. Enemies "activate" during the enemy phase, and they do attacks/abilities/advances as shown on the card like Inflict which is unblockable damage, and yes it sucks. But sometimes the monsters do not attack on their activation, such as ghouls, orcs...

What does the wound symbol on the Prey special ability refer to?
The enemy engages the hero that has taken the most WOUNDS, not the hero with the most health remaining.

What if two heroes are tied for number of wounds? What if none of the heroes have ANY wounds?
In any case where there would be a tie, the players get to choose. So in this case, you can pick which of the tied heroes the enemy engages.

Why do the rules say to ready all enemies after the enemy phase?
You are basically untapping all of the enemies, getting them ready to be a thorn in your side next round. It does not mean they activate twice per round, or anything crazy like that.
This also makes some location abilities work, like the bridge that has you activate all the enemies again when you travel, and ready them all again.


LOCATION PHASE
If a location is fully explored, can I move to a new location if engaged enemies are still alive?
Yes. Engaged enemies will follow you. Non-nemesis enemies in the shadow zone are discarded.

Do I have to travel?
No. But some/most quests you will probably want/need to.

Can I end the first quest by traveling, even if enemies are still alive?
Yes. That's all you have to do to win! The other quests are tougher.

If I travel in the location phase, do I have to resolve the travel effect?
It depends. The card will tell you when it resolves. You travel after the beginning but before the end of the location phase:

What are the actual steps of the location phase?
They aren't really spelled out, but here's a summary:
-Start of location phase. Does current location have a 'start of location phase' effect? If so resolve it.
- Is location fully explored and does the party wish to travel? If so remove location and reveal new card. Spawn new enemies.
- End of location phase. Does current location have an 'end of location phase' effect? If so resolve it.


SPAWNING
When do enemies get spawned?
When you travel to a new location. There are also some dungeon cards, nemesis abilities, and peril track abilities that spawn.

How are the enemies spawned by traveling to a new location?
Beginning with the torchbearer, and continuing clockwise around the table, an enemy is spawned to each hero, until you have added the number of enemies listed in red on the location.
Then you spawn the number of enemies listed in black FACEDOWN in the shadow zone.

What about when enemies are spawned by the peril track?
Unless otherwise indicated, the enemy engages the torchbearer. If more than one enemy is spawned, additional enemies engage heroes clockwise around the table, as noted above.

What if I draw a dungeon card that spawns an enemy, or roll a nemesis result that spawns an enemy?
If you spawn an enemy during your activation, that enemy engages YOU.

What if I run out of enemies in the enemy deck?
Sorry, you have to shuffle the deck and continue drawing.

What if I already have 3 enemies engaged with me, and another is spawned to engage me?
The new enemy first deals its damage rating to you, and then is placed in the shadow zone. You can never be engaged with more than 3 enemies.


PERIL PHASE
What happens if I am at the end of the peril track (such as in the first quest), and I have to advance the marker?
You will resolve the rightmost peril effect again. In the first quest, Grump, will spawn (if he was defeated) and activate twice.
Usually, this is enough reason to force you to finish the quest QUICKLY!

If the peril effect asks me to distribute wounds among the heroes, can I give a hero more wounds than their maximum health?
No. Same with nemesis effects like Grump’s that distribute wounds. If you are dealing 4 wounds to the party, and a hero has 2 health left, they cannot be given more than 2 of the wounds.


GEAR
How do I get gear?
Look for the Gear icon (coin) on the Dungeon cards when you take the explore action! Or you can draw it during the settlement phase if you visit the blacksmith as one of your two activities.

Can I trade non-legendary gear with my allies?
Yes - - but only during the settlement stage.

How much gear can I have?
Max of 1 at the start. But you can upgrade your limit during the settlement phase. However, you can still never have more than 1 Armor, 2 Weapons, and any number of Accessories. Legendary Gear is also included in this limit.

How do I get legendary gear?
At first, you can't get it at all. But when you win a quest, it may instruct you in the "Reward" section to add a legendary fortune card to the campaign pool.
In every future quest, take this legendary fortune card and shuffle it in with the 12 gear cards for the quest. When a hero draws a legendary fortune card from the gear deck, they immediately put it back in the campaign pool (basically put it to the side, ready for use in the next quest).
The hero then shuffles their 3 hero-specific legendary gear cards, draws one, and may equip it if they so choose.

TRAPS (the gear card and the Waywatcher legendary gear) - if a hero engages an enemy, does that count as an enemy engaging a hero?
Yes. These cards can trigger when a hero engages an enemy, OR when an enemy engages a hero (such as through Advance or Prey).

LUCKY COIN - How often can I use it?
Once per action.

PARRYING DAGGER - What's the point of this item?
First, you will note that it says "during" the action. This means that you can spend the success token to activate the ability AFTER you roll and see the die results, unlike normal success tokens (which must be used before the roll).
Secondly, the success token can come from any of your actions, not just the one you are resolving, so it gives you more flexibility in token use.


SETTLEMENT STAGE
What happens to the gear after a quest?
Undrawn gear is available for players in the settlement stage at the blacksmith.

Can I draw a legendary fortune card at the blacksmith?
Sure, if you get lucky and draw it you get legendary gear as normal.

When in the settlement stage, can a hero do 2 of the same thing (visit the trainer twice and advance 2 action cards)
No - you must do two different things

Can a hero go to blacksmith and look at the item draw before deciding if he wants to upgrade an item slot or advance an action?
Young fool...only now, at the end...do you understand. No


CAMPAIGN LOG
How in the heck does this work?
At the end of most quests, you will be instructed to add (or remove) some cards to the “campaign log”, which is basically a small pile or cards that follow you from one quest to another. Currently, these can be dungeon cards (the Warpstone in quest 2), nemeses, and gear cards (Legendary Rewards).

How do dungeon cards work?
When you are building your dungeon card deck (generally with 12 open cards), you take one FEWER card per dungeon card in the campaign pool.
So, if you fail quest 2 and gain the warpstones to your campaign pool, in quests 3-5 you will only draw 11 random dungeon cards, and the warpstones will be shuffled in as the 12th.

How about nemesis cards?
A nemesis will be shuffled in with all of the other enemies for the quest. They will spawn like any other enemy. If they are defeated, they are immediately removed from the game.
You do NOT remove a random enemy card for each nemesis.
So, for example, Odious Grump will ALWAYS be added to the enemies in quest 2. But if you defeat him, he won’t be coming back for quests 3-5!

And what about legendary rewards?
These are shuffled in with the 12 random gear cards. Note that you do NOT discard a gear card for each legendary reward. So your gear deck could be 13 cards or more.
When they are drawn and claimed, they are immediately taken out of the game and placed back in the campaign pool. This means they will not be in the discard pile (and you can’t grab one with a 2nd hero), but they WILL come back in the next quest.


DEFEATED HEROES
If my hero is defeated during his activation, does he get to finish his action?
Yes. You get to finish all of the steps of your activation. For example, if you were exploring, you would still draw and resolve a dungeon card.


SPECIFIC ENEMIES
Why does the Goblin Archer have two “inflict” keywords? Wouldn’t it make more sense to just raise his attack value to 2?
Remember that when you roll a claw icon on the black dice, enemies deal their attack value ONCE. So the goblin archer is fairly weak when you are engaged with him and roll a claw (dealing only 1 damage). But when you ACTIVATE him during the enemy phase, he attacks you twice, dealing 2 damage.
So basically, as his theme would suggest, he’s a bit of a wuss if you’re right in his face. Although the elite version is a different story!

Can orcs be exhausted by actions or abilities?
No. They are only exhausted when they are activated in the enemy phase (after advancing on a hero).


HEROES
The Waywatcher’s explore action allows her to exhaust an enemy in the shadows. If this enemy is facedown, is he flipped over when he is exhausted? Can he be discarded when we travel, even if he is a bat or a nemesis?
Enemies are NOT revealed when they are exhausted. They are only revealed after damage is assigned, when they are activated, or when they are engaged.
This means that a giant bat or a nemesis could potentially be discarded, if you travel on the same turn you exhaust it, never giving it a chance to activate.


QUESTS
QUEST ONE - If you reach the last step of the Peril Phase track, if I did not meet the end game conditions, does the last step repeat itself on the next turn? In other words, does Grump completely heal and a new monster is spawned due to the location if I made it to the Sump?
Yep, after advancing (or not advancing, in this case) the peril track, activate the associated ability corresponding to the current peril space (in this case, the last space). He gets brutal! But remember, you only need to travel, not defeat him.

QUEST ONE - Will Grump spawn even if he was defeated? Will he activate and attack if he is already spawned?
Yes and yes! He's a mean little guy. But if you defeat him LATER (in quest 2-5), then he is discarded for good, just like any other nemesis in the campaign pool.

QUEST TWO - Where does the peril marker start?
It starts on the SECOND space, with the open circle. This is because, as the campaign instructions note, you can potentially push peril BACK in this quest.

QUEST FOUR – When you add 8 progress to the Redoubt, does the party travel? Are enemies in the shadows discarded and new enemies spawned?
No. This is not considered traveling. It is merely a way to get the cannon so the heroes can shoot it again.
Note that new enemies already spawn in this quest from each of the green peril effects.

DELVE QUEST - When the Abomination is in the nemesis area, will a nemesis die result make him engage me?
Yes, he will come out early if you roll a nemesis result while he is in the nemesis are.


NEMESES
If you roll a nemesis result, and more than one nemesis are face-up, which ability do you resolve?
Unfortunately, you resolve all of them, in the order of your choice.

ABOMINATION - On a Nemesis roll, what if I'm already engaged?
You would NOT trigger the "when engaging" effect, because he is already engaged with you.

GARROK - Can I exhaust a non-refresh action and pretend to exhaust my refresh action to avoid brutalize?
Nope...sorry...he is brutal. And you can't just pretend to exhaust your refresh action twice either. To avoid brutalize, you must have two un-exhausted actions IN ADDITION to your refresh action.
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Higdon
United States
madison
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Quote:
During the Settlement Stage, can you trade or unequip depleted gear, or health-boosting gear when you have reached your maximum wound threshold?

Answer - Yes, but only in the third step of the settlement stage, after gear has been flipped and wounds have been recovered. So you cannot ditch or trade this gear when using the blacksmith, for example.


I don't believe this was confirmed by either of the designers.

Quote:
Is a hero's attack damage applied BEFORE resolving a skeleton horde's attack from a claw icon result on the black die? If the hero defeats the skeleton horde, do they deal 0 damage since they have 0 health remaining?


According to the Rules Reference, pg 6, Actions, Steps of an Action #6, successes are applied before Enemy attacks, so the Skeleton Horde's damage would be reduced by any damage done.

Quote:
If a hero draws a legendary fortune card, but doesn't want to get a legendary gear card (or already has all 3 of their cards), can they choose to discard the legendary fortune card, allowing another hero to draw it from the discard pile later?


When a Hero claims a Legendary Fortune card from the Gear Deck, he returns it to the Campaign Pool to claim a legendary gear card, so no it cannot be discarded to the Gear Discard pile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Mlodzkoski
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
@GamemasterXO -- Had not seen your post and had also been building an unofficial FAQ. This is what I had. I think our content is pretty similar!

edit - [integrated in OP]

When I draw a dungeon card and it makes me roll black dice -- if I roll a nemesis do I have to resolve the effect of the nemesis in play?

No -- Nemesis are only triggered on the action card's primary effect which is in bolded small caps (rr pg4 & rr pg11)

When I draw a dungeon card and it has me roll white dice -- if I roll a critical success do I get to roll again?

Probably not, but the rules don't really cover it.

If I'm "Defeated" (aka suffer wounds equal to or more than my hit points), do I get to finish my turn (aka activation)?
Yes! See DEFEATED on Pg6 of Rules Reference -- a defeated hero or enemy finishes their activation. So if you suffer wounds > hit points during an explore action, you still draw and resolve the dungeon card. But you can't heal once you've received defeated damage cry

So...if I'm defeated on my turn can I play a healing salve before the end of my turn?
No - The healing salve says "before or after a hero's activation." After in this context means when the turn is over, and you are already on the turf defeated by that point. Besides, you can't heal no matter what as soon as you are defeated.

What happens if a player discards legendary gear?
WTF...you chucked legendary gear?! Remove it from the campaign

So if the Ghoul is in the shadows and I choose it (reveal it) during the enemy activation, am I diseased?
Nope...not yet! That ghoul gives out disease and then advances. So you might want to pwn him before its next turn. Enemy action sequences give the game a lot of its flairzombie

How many actions do we get in a 3 player game?
The good guys always get 4 actions in total so a the leader goes twice in 3 player. If you are playing 2 players, you each get 2 actions before enemy activation.

On Sudden Strike (dungeon card) or Rusted Dungeons (location) -- if there are no face up enemies, do I choose a face down enemy in shadow?

No -- face down enemies have no rank and therefore do not trigger when rank is called for.

If I target 3 enemies...one in Bald Wally's zone, one in the shadows and one engaged with me, do I get the benefit of this sword while throwing a fireball? Yes, partially... you (can) get the benefit for the melee target but not the ranged targets. Imagine you are fighting using a combination of melee and ranged attacks.

Can I warhammer an enemy engaged with me that I did not target in the attack?
Don't think so. Why would they bother to write "target" on that little card if it could be any engaged enemy.

Why can't I trade the depleted pendant to the Bald Wally in stage 2 of settlement?
Because people were abusing depleting items in beta. They used them, and then chucked them during the quest. And their buddy would pick it up out of the discard pile. And lather rinse repeat. So they made a rule to stop that. You should be able to pass around a depleted item in settlement. But you can't. Deal with it.

edit - my opinions on the "unresolved" rule questions:

With the Night Cloak (cannot receive conditions), can a hero choose to resolve an effect that requires taking a condition as its cost? As an example, with Unkel's nemesis ability (discard a success token OR become sickened), would a player with the night cloak HAVE to discard a success token, or could they choose the other option, even though they cannot become sickened?
I think on Unkel you can choose the sickened option...and then IF you've got the nightcloak you don't get the sickened! Nunkel is a big bad dude but he doesn't know what you are wearing.
Regarding the dungeon deck magic stuff like nurgle or khorne or elfish spell or the changer of the ways...you have a choice of [become condition] to get a benefit; so question is -- can you "become [condition]" and then discard it due to Night Cloak "cannot receive." Become happens before receive. Maybe.

Similarly, if a hero is ALREADY sickened, and they have a success token, can they choose become sickened on Nunkel's nemesis result?

RR pg 6 implies the answer is yes -- you can become sick if you are sick in the passage..."if a hero who is already sickened would become sickened again, he ignores the effect."

If a hero draws a legendary fortune card, but doesn't want to get a legendary gear card (or already has all 3 of their cards), can they choose to discard the legendary fortune card, allowing another hero to draw it from the discard pile later?
I've been convinced the answer is no...fortune/fate can not be manipulated in such a way.

Can a player increase their gear limit to 5?
Nothing in the rules say you can't!!!!! The campaign sheet is what puts it in question...so draw an extra box. The arena is the training ground where you get more skillz...and if you dedicate yourself to the arena in settlement...then heck yeah you should be able to utilize 5 gear slots.

For the warpstone, does it get removed from the campaign pool if it is in the discard pile after a quest is completed?
Not sure -- but think it stays in campaign pool for good. At least you find an item every time!

Similarly, if a campaign pool nemesis is discarded but not defeated (by traveling while they are facedown in the shadow zone), do they go back in the campaign pool?
Not sure - but think the spirit of the game would dictate you must defeat the nemesis to get it out of the campaign pool.

During the settlement stage, is it possible to trade or discard gear that has been depleted or that adds health? Can you trade it during step 3 of the stage, when gear is flipped over and health is restored?
Confident that: Depleted gear can be traded in step 3 after it refreshes. Items that add hit points can be traded or discarded anytime removing the item would not cause a player to go down to 0 (or less) hit points.

Can shield results be used to prevent wounds caused by nemesis results?
Confident the answer is No

ELFCAP FUNGUS - When does this give you a free action?
Unsure -- but suspect it is only the single success (3/6 chance). The text says "on a (success), perform 1 additional action." The wording "on a" leads me to believe the intent is it must be that exact result.

QUEST TWO - How many cards are shuffled with the warpstone?
Believe it is the top 3 cards + warpstone -- the wording should be better...something along the lines of "draw X, shuffle warpstone, put on top."

SLEEPING WARREN - If this is the first location revealed at the beginning of the game, does its power get activated?
Confident the answer is No. You are "revealing" not "traveling"

If you are defeated, the rules say you get to finish your activation. Can you also use an item that works “after your activation?” Can you fire a final gunshot, or use a potion to heal yourself out of being defeated?
You can shoot the gun fosho. But you can't heal at this point...


When is Snak Kraggle’s resilience calculated? If I do a multi-target attack, including Snak Kraggle, and defeat some other readied enemies, do they count for his resilience? Basically, is the damage simultaneous or decided in the order I choose?

I think this was covered by the designer when he said "players cannot assign damage incrementally to their benefit." True, the incident in question was different (applying damage to face down enemies) but pretty sure the statement is still on point.
9 
 Thumb up
6.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
GameMasterX0 wrote:

Can shields rolled during an action prevent wounds from a nemesis effect (such as the 2 wounds from the nemesis in the first quest)?
Answer - No. Shields can only prevent wounds from attack icon rolls (claws).


Many thanks for taking the trouble to kick this FAQ off, it will be very useful I think.

The shields point might need to be put in your unresolved section.
The rules clearly state that each shield reduces the number of wounds suffered during the current action by one. Thus if the nemesis wounds are triggered by your current action, it suggests they can be stopped. (LTP page 5)
The confusion arises from later in the book where it says resolve nemesis effects after other icons are resolved. What exactly does this mean ? Can you save unused shields for the nemesis effect? To not be able to do this is very counter-intuitive, and if intended should be explicitly stated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Owens
United States
Williamsburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
While it makes sense that you could use excess shield to prevent damage from a nemesis effect, the rules ref indicates that the shields only reduce attack damage. Claws are are source of attack damage, whereas nemesis icons are a game effect not attack damage.

I liken it to the way heroes can get around enemy resilience with items, gear and abilities.

Also for the FAQ - shadow zone enemies only flip when they are engaged, damaged, or they activate on the enemy phase. In particular, exhausting face down enemies to not cause them to flip.

I have also seen questions regarding a gear limit of 4, isn't there only 5 quests in the campaign? You would have to up your gear limit after each quest to get to 4 by quest 5.

Thanks for doing up the FAQ,
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dava chido
Mauritius
msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
marlowc wrote:
GameMasterX0 wrote:

Can shields rolled during an action prevent wounds from a nemesis effect (such as the 2 wounds from the nemesis in the first quest)?
Answer - No. Shields can only prevent wounds from attack icon rolls (claws).


Many thanks for taking the trouble to kick this FAQ off, it will be very useful I think.

The shields point might need to be put in your unresolved section.
The rules clearly state that each shield reduces the number of wounds suffered during the current action by one. Thus if the nemesis wounds are triggered by your current action, it suggests they can be stopped. (LTP page 5)
The confusion arises from later in the book where it says resolve nemesis effects after other icons are resolved. What exactly does this mean ? Can you save unused shields for the nemesis effect? To not be able to do this is very counter-intuitive, and if intended should be explicitly stated.


No this isn't unresolved, the rules are quite clear in the relevant "Steps of an action" in the rulebook. Jeffrey brings up why above.

The rules state that the Rules Reference overrides the learn to play guide. One of the reasons it states this is very much because of what you see in page 5. Page 5 states "The number of wounds he suffers in the current action is reduced by 1." The reason it states this in a general way here is because in the tutorial mission (which page 5 is) there are no nemesis effects. So shields clashing with the nemesis are not brought up as the learn to play section is trying to reduce the amount of rules you need to learn straight away. The learn to play book does not spell out the full resolution of an action as that is stated in the rules reference which correctly states that shields only come into play when dealing with "Enemy attack" rolls on the dice.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
davachido wrote:

No this isn't unresolved, the rules are quite clear in the relevant "Steps of an action" in the rulebook. Jeffrey brings up why above.


Judging by the confusion over this, saying that it's quite clear is a tad optimistic I think.

If the designer intended this counter-intuitive, and unprecedented interpretation, why, oh why, did he simply not add "this is the only time a shield icon may be used to prevent a wound" shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dava chido
Mauritius
msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Quote:
Judging by the confusion over this, saying that it's quite clear is a tad optimistic I think.


The issue is resolved as shield icons only coming up during enemy attack is the rule. There isn't any other interpretation for it, if people are confused about it they can read the FAQ and see that it only comes up during enemy attacks, hopefully that should clear up confusion but it is resolved.

Quote:
"this is the only time a shield icon may be used to prevent a wound"


Why would he need to?

There isn't a clause anywhere in the rules reference that specifies that shields subtract all damage.

"The attack value of each attacking enemy is added together to create the total enemy attack value, which is subtracted by the number of shield icons produced during the roll."

This is the only time shields appear in the document. (Well okay it appears twice but its the same sentence for the same purpose, once in enemy attacks, once in steps of an action.)

I don't see how this is counter-intuitive, it sounds like you are just assuming it does something that it doesn't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris G
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Can we get this stickied until there is an official FAQ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Hey all, I will do a bit update of my initial post soon (stuck under a sleeping infant at the moment).

And I PMed Adam, and he said he will be coming on to answer the unresolved questions here. So yay!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Turner
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
GameMasterX0 wrote:
Hey all, I will do a bit update of my initial post soon (stuck under a sleeping infant at the moment).

And I PMed Adam, and he said he will be coming on to answer the unresolved questions here. So yay!


Awesome, thanks for putting this together!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
GameMasterX0 wrote:
Hey all, I will do a bit update of my initial post soon (stuck under a sleeping infant at the moment).


Ask another hero to engage the little monster for you. Remember, exhausted creatures don't roll any black dice
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boyd
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
I think one issue is that people see rules in fundamentally two ways. That is, rules are the things you can do versus the things you cannot do. Take for instance, 'you may engage one enemy'. If you interpret rules as the things you cannot do, there's no confusion over this. Say I want to engage an enemy in the shadows. Does this rule say I can't? No. Therefore I can. But if you see rules as what you are allowed, it doesn't specifically say you can engage enemies in the shadows, and you're left to infer it's meaning. That can be unclear for a lot of reasons (Thinking realistically, if all I have is a melee weapon, how can I engage an enemy that's far away? And that's only one way to think about it.)

I found the rules very well written and very clear. But I see rules as the exceptions as to what you already can do. Seems to me that this game's rulebooks were written like that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Mlodzkoski
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
@GamemasterXO -- after reading every post in the rules forum and comparing our posts...one thing some felt still is "up in the air" is getting legendary gear at the blacksmith. Something about the blacksmith wording and the legendary fortune, upgrade and equip sequence IIRC. I think the intent is you can get the legendary gear at Blacksmith; just pointing out that the rules were a little sketch here and some still think differently.

And one more topic that I think merits adding to the FAQ is...

If I roll a Nemesis icon, can an ally pay the cost or become [nasty condition] instead of me?

Pretty sure the intent is no, but can't find it clearly stated in the rules anywhere. Perhaps because of Grump, we'd been allowing allies to intervene for other nemesis rolls.

Also, related, it does not clearly indicate in the rules if the nemesis roll affects all players or just (s)he who rolled it. Again I'm fairly sure now it is just (s)he who rolled it. The rules state, in multiple places, you resolve each nemesis result once regardless of the number rolled. However it is not made clear if it is just one (roller) or multiple (all) targets.

This became more obvious as we played. The enemy that engages on a Nemesis roll clearly isn't going to engage everyone. But the stench of Unkel certainly could waft around the table (but I don't think it does anymore).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Alright, big update is done.

The main thing is that I "borrowed" most of Martin's content, but with heavy editing and organizing. I hope you don't mind Martin, but I wanted your great content right at the top! I tipped you 5 GG for your trouble.

I added the shields/nemesis wounds question to the unresolved section, since clearly we still don't all agree!

I also moved the depleted gear/settlement stage question back to unresolved.

To Jeffrey's point about Gear Limits, you start out with 1 gear limit, and you have 4 opportunities for upgrading (1 after each quest, 1-4). So you could theoretically upgrade 4 times to a limit of 5, and I don't see a good reason why you shouldn't be able to. It's not in the rules, just on that chart, so I want to get designer clarification.

I don't think the night cloak is clear yet. Why would I use up a gear spot if it not only prevents me from getting empowered, but also stops me from choosing which Nunkel nemesis ability to activate? I want designer clarification here.

Chris G, I don't think BGG does stickying of threads... am I wrong?

Martin, I can add your most recent question, but I think it is clear. Unless the ability specifically says to divide it up among players (like with Grump), it affects the player who rolled the nemesis result. So Abomination engages you (and damages you if he wasn't already engaged with you). Unkel sickens you or steals your success token, etc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Grandmartoni wrote:
@GamemasterXO -- after reading every post in the rules forum and comparing our posts...one thing some felt still is "up in the air" is getting legendary gear at the blacksmith. Something about the blacksmith wording and the legendary fortune, upgrade and equip sequence IIRC. I think the intent is you can get the legendary gear at Blacksmith


I think we had the right interpretation, but Adam or Brady can correct us when they make their way over here. The Legendary Fortune card is still sitting in the gear deck, right? If you draw it, it seems only fair you should get it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Mlodzkoski
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Certainly do not mind at all gamemasterXO. Thanks for the collaboration this is going to be a great reference for all.

And will defer to your judgement on the nemesis roll being clear. Again I think we just fell into "the bad habit" because of Grump.

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boyd
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Concerning putting cards back into the campaign pool, I think it is pretty clear.
Rules Reference p.6 under Campaign Pool
"At the end of the settlement stage, if there are any campaign pool cards remaining in any decks, these cards are returned to the campaign pool"
Exception is a defeated nemesis (not just discarded).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
mboyd197 wrote:
Concerning putting cards back into the campaign pool, I think it is pretty clear.
Rules Reference p.6 under Campaign Pool
"At the end of the settlement stage, if there are any campaign pool cards remaining in any decks, these cards are returned to the campaign pool"
Exception is a defeated nemesis (not just discarded).


Yeah, I'm afraid you are probably right. Ugh. I really didn't want to have Warpstones EVERY quest just because I failed to beat Nunkel. Although I guess they do give me a treasure each time I draw them, so it isn't all bad.

I'll still wait for official clarification to update this, since the term "deck" is never defined in the rules. But again, I lean towards your interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boyd
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Legendary Fortune cards seem clear to me also.

Rules Reference p. 10 under Legendary Gear
"When a hero claims a 'Legendary Fortune' card from the gear deck, he returns that card to the campaign pool and randomly claims one gear card from among his legendary gear cards."

It also says the same thing at the bottom of page 13 in the Learn to Play. What that would mean for discarding is that if a hero doesn't equip the Legendary Gear when he drew it, that particular piece of gear would go into the discard pile. No one else can claim it because it isn't one of their hero's Legendary Gear. The hero who initially discarded could swap it later if they get another chance at gear (as per normal rules of drawing a gear card or taking one from the discard pile). The Legendary Fortune card never ends up in the discard pile. A hero with all 3 pieces of Legendary Gear would 'waste' a draw of a Legendary Fortune card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boyd
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Yep, having the warpstone pop up in every quest if you fail would suck. But Legendary Fortune cards also stick around. Make sure you succeed at the quest, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D. Kelley
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
Hey everyone, sort of bad news.

Adam just PMed me and said that FFG has instructed him not to answer other rules questions on BGG until the official FAQ has been prepared.

We CAN still send these questions to FFG themselves, so we can be sure they are aware of all of them (although clearly Adam has seen this page, so they probably already know).

I guess I can do it, but would anyone else be willing to submit our current unresolved questions to FFG?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Marlow
United Kingdom
Bridgwater
Somerset
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
GameMasterX0 wrote:
Grandmartoni wrote:
@GamemasterXO -- after reading every post in the rules forum and comparing our posts...one thing some felt still is "up in the air" is getting legendary gear at the blacksmith. Something about the blacksmith wording and the legendary fortune, upgrade and equip sequence IIRC. I think the intent is you can get the legendary gear at Blacksmith


I think we had the right interpretation, but Adam or Brady can correct us when they make their way over here. The Legendary Fortune card is still sitting in the gear deck, right? If you draw it, it seems only fair you should get it!


It seems to me, the intention of the writer is to take this ruleset absolutely literally soblue

In which case, the Legendary Fortune card is placed in the campaign pool after it is drawn. Wherever that is exactly during a quest I'm not sure, but it's definitely not the gear deck discard pile.
The player then randomly draws one of his remaining legendary gear cards.
If he can't, or doesn't want to equip it, it goes into the gear deck discard pile? (he could claim it from here later in the quest?)
When you visit the blacksmith you draw 2 cards from the gear deck, not the discard pile?
So you can only get legendary gear at the blacksmith by drawing another Legendary Fortune card from the top 2 cards of the gear deck?

Phew! Being pedantic is such hard work isn't it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
I'd add this, inspired by starting at the location Sleeping Warren on quest 3...

You do not travel to the first location during quest setup (the rulebook says only that you have revealed it). Do not resolve "when [you] travel" effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Boyd
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Re: My attempt at an unofficial FAQ
marlowc wrote:
It seems to me, the intention of the writer is to take this ruleset absolutely literally.


I agree with this. Using the rules word for word makes the most sense to me.

I think you have the Legendary Gear right too. To add:
At the bottom of page 13 in the Learn to Play
"Each hero has three hero-specific legendary gear cards."

No one else can even pick dropped legendary gear up because they can't equip it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.