Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Tide of Iron» Forums » Rules

Subject: Squad transfers (split?) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you allowed to move some units from one squad to a new squad (ie new base)? You may be in a situation where you don't want, for example, 2 machine gun crews to have to fire at the same unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
No. Empty bases are removed from the game and can not be used.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Gelb
United States
Los Angeles
CALIFORNIA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do think you are able to consolidate squads, as long as one of the squads doesn't have a specilization chit on it. So if you have one squad with two men, and one squad with one or two guys left, you can add them together. I saw an example of this I believe on their official site.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Correct. However, you can not transfer figures to an empty base as they are removed as soon as they are empty.

If a squad is by itself in a hex, it can not divide into two different squads.

If 2 squads are in a hex, they can transfer figures between themselves. However, they can not create a third squad in that hex.

Mike Z
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erno Ristola
Finland
flag msg tools
You can't transfer figures into specialized squad (engineer and such) but what about if you have 2 engineer squads in one hex, both missing 2 figures. Cand you combine these two engineer units into one full engineer squad?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob "Bodhi" Wolff
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that the way that the rules are worded, you cannot do any transfers between specialist units at all -- even between two of the same type of specialist unit.

pg. 16
"A player may not transfer figures to or from a squad with a specialization(such as a medic squad, or an anti-tank squad)." The specialization itself stops the transfer, not the type of specialization, according to that wording.

It doesn't say "only between units of that type". It just says you cannot transfer to-or-from those squads.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo Motta
Brazil
Ararangu√°
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Specialized squads can not transfer or receive soldiers, even among squads with the same specialization.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo Motta
Brazil
Ararangu√°
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Full squads can interchange soldiers with others full squads?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say transfer, not exchange. So I guess no, but I am not sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse LeBreton
United States
Kingsford
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the intent to transfer or exchange means the same thing. I believe you could move an elite from a full squad into another full squad to increase that squads ratio of elites and then move a regular infantry back to the other squad.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.