Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Waters
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the C&C system, as you will soon note...

In my 11th game, 1st with an experienced player, I finally learned that only units ordered during that round can battle. Up until then, we had played that as if moving/ordering and battling were not related. As in, archers could plink away each round as units rushed up to kill them. I am now convinced of my very basic error. However, I actually like the game better when "All Units in Range Can Battle" because:

1. The game is a bit quicker, as battling is constant.
2. Archers take on a much more significant role.
3. "Drying up" of Command card draw seems to be less important once you get your units in a good position.
4. Bold support is even more important as you are constantly attacked.
5. This seems more thematically correct - I think of orders as the logistics of getting individual armies into formation and position. Once in range, my right wide armies shouldn't be motionless for 4 turns while the left is slashing away.

Anyway, any thoughts on this unintentional variant and its effects? Is "All Units in Range Can Battle" used in other wargames?

Thanks for your thoughts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Most games allow combat by all units in range to have combat.

That the CCA system does not is one of the things that is both different and extremely interesting about it.

What you are doing is a totally different game-- you might trying playing it as intended a few times before deciding the very ordinary is superior.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie the Cranky Gamer
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Qhorin wrote: