C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Supposing P3 (player 3) bought a Type-4 train that triggers the scrapping of Type-2 trains. This may result in some companies having to forced purchase a new train.

how is this resolve turn-wise? Do we follow turn order clockwise from the player who trigger the phase change, or do we go with the companies turn order as in Stock Market position?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Corporations are only checked for needing a train in the "purchase trains" phase. No one buys trains immediately when the two trains rust, it comes in the order of when the corporations operate and they have to buy it during the purchase trains phase.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah.. that makes sense. So let me summarize.

Supposing there's no CGR
1. When a player buys Type-6, all Type-3 are discarded
2. On the player's turn, if he has Type-4 and above, he still runs his route, collect income etc and optionally purchase more trains if he wants to
3. If he has no train (coz his only Type-3 was discarded earlier) then he does no run this turn and collects no income. He is now forced to buy a train since he has legal route(s)

Now consider the situation if the CGR is formed
1. When a player buys Type-6, all Type-3 are discarded
2. At the end of this player's turn, there's a check to determine if CGR is formed. If there is at least one comp unable to pay their loans, CGR is formed
3. If CGR is not formed, play sequence shud follow from Step 2 above (yes?)
4. If CGR is formed, we do the share exchange, company handover, station marker replacement etc and then comes to train discard/purchase by CGR
- In this case, if the company (as in step 3 above) was absorbed into the CGR, does this mean the ex-owner no longer need to fork up his money to do the forced train purchase (hmm, a way out for him?)
5. Obviously if a company is not absorbed into CGR and has no train, its owner needs to do a forced train purchase.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes!

One of the great things about 1856 is that your first company need never buy any train more fancy than a 3T (preferably two, or a 3 and a 4, but anyhow). You take a bunch of loans, hopefully shovel some money into another company, and then foist the by-now-unprofitable thing off on the Canadian Government.

The CGR formation procedure is completely independent of companies needing to buy trains: it's a `phase change' procedure like the scrapping of the 3-trains. The CGR can either keep its forerunners' 4-trains, or not (or some of both, though this is rarely the right answer). On a company's turn, you check if it needs to buy a train, and do Emergency Money Raising if it does. These two things have nothing to do with each other.

Note that this applies when the Diesels and 4s come out, or if a company sells its last train, too: companies only need to own a train on their own turn.


Cool?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.