Popular Tags: [View All]
Jarek Szczepanik
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As a scientist, I am trying to keep up with recent discoveries and breakthroughs by reading a few of the millions of scientific journals. I was very surprised when I saw board game boxes in one of them. A group of two teenagers, three graduate students, two postdocs and three professors wondered if there are any board games that implement evolutionary theme well enough. Just before holidays! They have tested Evolution, Evolution: Random Mutations and Terra Evolution: Tree of Life. The results of their research were published in recent issue of Nature, one of the most influential science journals.

Guess who won:

http://www.nature.com/nature/journal/v528/n7581/full/528192a...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Amazing stuff. Glad to see this there!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Van Willis
United States
Kaysville
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Had I realized in graduate school that I could get published in Nature by writing about all the board games I was playing I could have made it out in half the time! shake
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
North Star Games
United States
Kensington
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Evolution is our favourite by far."

Quote of the year.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mb
They really should have tried Bios: Megafauna and Origins: How We Became Human.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
slashing wrote: