Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: mrjr_rsp [+] [View All]
Lee Kennedy
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Caveat: I am still learning Magic Realm.

I've played three straight solo games as the White Knight. Each time I started at the chapel, sold the sword to buy the morning star and then traded until I got the T7/H4 warhorse on a boon. The most that has taken me is 2 1/2 days. After that it seems like the WK can just walk through the realm. Each time I've made my victory conditions, last time with a total score of 28! Barring a bad map where you are cutoff by caves, and avoiding a few baddies (like the pool) it seems like there is nothing to challenge the WK. I haven't been wounded in any of the 3 games.

I know there is an optional rule to remove the chance at a boon, and that if there were more characters the WK would be a big target. But in solo play, is the WK really that strong or have I just been lucky?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Richardson
United States
Lindsborg
Kansas
flag msg tools
mb
A warhorse will make any character nearly (but not completely) invincible in the standard game. White Knight + warhorse is a REALLY strong combination.

If this bugs you, then you could try the Optional Combat Rules... no more invincible warhorses! But the game also becomes much harder, as the monsters are much more deadly (and thus the Optional Combat Rules are NOT recommended for beginners).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robt. Ferrett
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
I don't have the 3rd edition rules in front of me--but isn't there an option where the Order is just Friendly to the White Knight, not Allied? That lowers the cheap trade possibility.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb