Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Slots on Specialist Boards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm having a bit of brain fog on when tricks, components and apprentices can be placed on the slots on specialist boards.

I'm satisfied these come pre-populated when you start with a particular specialist. The problem for me is when you acquire specialists during the game and when you can use the slots.

Is it simply that, once you have a particular specialist, the next time you learn a trick, buy a component or hire an apprentice, you can choose to place them on a matching (empty) slot on the specialist board?

If so, would this mean that, if you hired an Assistant and an Apprentice in the same turn, you could place the new Apprentice on the Assistant board?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bigland wrote:
Is it simply that, once you have a particular specialist, the next time you learn a trick, buy a component or hire an apprentice, you can choose to place them on a matching (empty) slot on the specialist board?

Yes

Bigland wrote:
If so, would this mean that, if you hired an Assistant and an Apprentice in the same turn, you could place the new Apprentice on the Assistant board?

I guess the order you take your employees is your choice, so I'd say yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
With my limited understanding of the rules (I haven't played yet, and I'm having similar brain fog over performances), I would say that you are correct on all counts. I think you only need to use the Workshop action to move or swap tricks/components/apprentices onto the specialist board if you didn't place them there when you acquired them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Extra characters (Assistants/ Specialists) bought during a turn remain at the inn. At the end of the tun, after wages have been paid, the newly acquired characters are placed on their respective board positions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben O'Steen
United Kingdom
Bishops Stortford
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bigland wrote:
If so, would this mean that, if you hired an Assistant and an Apprentice in the same turn, you could place the new Apprentice on the Assistant board?


The assistant's "special" action is to move an apprentice from the slots that require wages to the assistant's apprentice slot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
AdrianPHague wrote:
Extra characters (Assistants/ Specialists) bought during a turn remain at the inn. At the end of the tun, after wages have been paid, the newly acquired characters are placed on their respective board positions.


Yes, but Dan is asking whether he can put an Apprentice, hired on the same turn as an Assistant, on the Assistant's board? You would pick them both up from the Inn at the same time, and you acquire the specialist's board at that time, so I think yes.

benosteen wrote:
The assistant's "special" action is to move an apprentice from the slots that require wages to the assistant's apprentice slot.


But isn't that just for Apprentices you already had before you got the Assistant? If you acquired a new one, couldn't they be moved from the inn directly to the Assistant's board if the spot was vacant? Doesn't the same apply to newly-acquired tricks with the Engineer, or newly-acquired components with the Manager? I think so, but I can see it isn't clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moose Malloy wrote:

benosteen wrote:
The assistant's "special" action is to move an apprentice from the slots that require wages to the assistant's apprentice slot.


But isn't that just for Apprentices you already had before you got the Assistant? If you acquired a new one, couldn't they be moved from the inn directly to the Assistant's board if the spot was vacant? Doesn't the same apply to newly-acquired tricks with the Engineer, or newly-acquired components with the Manager? I think so, but I can see it isn't clear.

That's where things started getting hazy for me, but I may just be overcomplicating things. Nevertheless:

If you cannot move newly acquired tricks, components and apprentices onto the specialist slots immediately, there might be times where you have no room on your main board, and have to carefully orchestrate actions to clear space first (by either taking workshop actions to move items, or throwing tricks/components away). Now I've written that out loud, it sounds too messy to be what's intended.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Bigland wrote:
If you cannot move newly acquired tricks, components and apprentices onto the specialist slots immediately, there might be times where you have no room on your main board, and have to carefully orchestrate actions to clear space first (by either taking workshop actions to move items, or throwing tricks/components away). Now I've written that out loud, it sounds too messy to be what's intended.


I agree . And while Apprentices are maybe less messy than components or tricks, it would still be messy to have different rules for different specialists.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Patterson
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd suggest that the rulebook suggests -- does not say, but suggests, mostly by silence -- that newly acquired materials can be placed directly on specialist boards. Granted, each specialist has one form or another of a "transfer" action, but the rules don't say that the specialist slots must be transferred into--for instance, that a newly acquired trick cannot be placed directly onto the Engineer's slot or that a newly acquired component cannot be placed directly onto one of the two multicomponent slots on the Manager. (In fact, there would be cases, as in acquiring a fourth apprentice when the Assistant slot had not previously been filled for some reason, when direct placement onto a specialist would be necessary.) Given that, I'd assume it'd be alright to directly place a newly acquired apprentice onto either a preexisting or an acquired-this-turn Assistant. The game seems to treat "normal" and "special" slots as equivalent, and the rules do not, as far as I can see, provide any timing directives for the order in which newly acquired workers should be placed.

If the above is true as far as the Manager and Engineer go, there are no timing issues (as there might be with the Assistant).

Granted, this could be wrong, but it seems as though the rules would need to say that specialist slots cannot be used directly and can only be used through transfer from the main board. That'd be a pretty big inference to make from what's there. Moreover, I can't immediately see any balance reason for making that requirement. It does undercut the usefulness of the "transfer" actions, but it's not clear that that's a problem. In the specific case of the Assistant and new apprentice, the wages have been paid previous to the placement of the new apprentice anyway, so it's not as though the Assistant-apprentice move is "getting away" with something that the other specialists are not if all may directly receive new "materials."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that was pretty much my train of thought, but expressed far more clearly than I could!

jpat wrote:
It does undercut the usefulness of the "transfer" actions, but it's not clear that that's a problem.


Now I've played a couple of demo games, I think I'm starting to see the general usefulness of the transfer actions, particularly for the engineer and manager, and can see situations where they would get multiple uses in a game (unlike the Assistant, that I imagine would be used at most once).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K S
United States
Roseville
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We were a little bit confused by this last night in our first game. We decided if that specialist is the one the obtained said item(s) it could go directly onto their card. Not sure if it's correct but it worked for us and added to the strategy when to use them.

Although I do like and agree a bit more now after re-reading the rules that whenever you obtain something that would fit onto a specialist's board it could go there as they are under your employ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a comment over on the Kickstarter forum from one of the designers of the game that confirms that anything new can be put wherever you want in terms of on the specialist boards or not.

I also feel that this makes the specialist workshop actions less important, but I'm also sure there are times when they're crucial.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
During our first play, I suddenly realised that when taking the Workshop: Move Apprentice action, the Apprentice will probably be in play somewhere. Indeed, he may be the character assigned to the Workshop to send himself to the Assistant's board.

Presumably that's okay, is it? With no disc on the Apprentice slot, you just move his location card over?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems reasonable. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.