Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Myth» Forums » Rules

Subject: item has buff keyword, but adds FD to ATTACK? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
finbar taub
United States
san diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Sorry if this has been gone over, but i searched the Rules Forum and there is just sooooo much to sift through - ...


So, from the 2.0 rules i gather the following:

PG 25: to use an equipped item as part of an attack, the item MUST have a keyword matching a keyword listed on the hero card providing the attack.

PG 24 - the keywords on items are the small (really tiny) words under the picture - not the ones in bold, unlike the keywords on hero cards, which are the ones in bold (that there seems kinda silly - i would think all keywords would look the same...)

So -an item like the Ring of Kings has the Buff keyword, but that doesn't ever show up on Hero Attack cards. So, how could you use it to add Fate Dice to your attack?

Or is it like on page 12 that just because it is a "Buff" keyword card you do always get to use it on an Attack?

Is it me, or is this at all sort of contradictory in the rules?

thanks so much in advance for replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Callahan
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Items with the "buff" keyword can be applied to any attack roll (so in the case of the soldier; it would not matter whether you were using a weapon attack or a shield attack,... The buff would apply in both cases)

The new rules state specifically state how dice pools are formed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remi Bureau
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you only need to match the keyword from your hero card to the weapon you're using for the attack (main-hand/off-hand), so basically, if you're the Soldier with basic gear, between the fireplace poker and the pot lid. Keywords you'd be looking for in this example would be either "Weapon", "Melee" or "Shield".

Any buffs provided by any of the 3 right item slots affect every hero card, regardless of keywords.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jackson
United States
Versailles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule from page 12:

Buff: Items with this keyword may be added to a hero’s dice pool .

You know it's added to your Attack dice pool because the line on the Ring of Kings says- Attack: +1FD.

So you would take your base dice, plus whichever item you are using to do the attack, and add 1FD on top of that.

Soldier (1d10 1FD) + Longsword (2D10 1FD) + Ring of Kings (1FD) = you roll 3d10 & 3FD for this attack.

This isn't taking any other card or movement modifiers into account, but that's the basic idea. Buff is an "Extra, on top of" thing.

At the moment, all buff items add to the Attack pool. Who knows if this will always be the case.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remi Bureau
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CarelessOpossum wrote:
The rule from page 12:

Buff: Items with this keyword may be added to a hero’s dice pool .

You know it's added to your Attack dice pool because the line on the Ring of Kings says- Attack: +1FD.

So you would take your base dice, plus whichever item you are using to do the attack, and add 1FD on top of that.

Soldier (1d10 1FD) + Longsword (2D10 1FD) + Ring of Kings (1FD) = you roll 3d10 & 3FD for this attack.

This isn't taking any other card or movement modifiers into account, but that's the basic idea. Buff is an "Extra, on top of" thing.

At the moment, all buff items add to the Attack pool. Who knows if this will always be the case.


True, good point!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
finbar taub
United States
san diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
thanks for all the replies - will play it like that (although the part on page 25 does contradict the page 12 rule......)


thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Callahan
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not contradictory; pg 25 is only talking about which item to attack with,.... shield or sword,.... wand or spell book, etc. but I can see where it could be read that way.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.