Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Baylis
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
6 nimmt!

As a games designer I often genuinely admire games created by others. Some games I am in awe of and others I simply enjoy playing because they are clever or interesting, have super pieces/board or are highly amusing. There are also a few games that I would have really loved to have come up with. Two of those games are cards games, one is the never failing FLUXX and the other is Wolfgang Kramer's 6 nimmt! which is both a challenge and highly amusing.

The premise is simple; each player has a hand of 10 cards and has to get rid of them whilst collecting the least Bull Heads - the icons on the cards. When players have played 10 turns each, playing a single card each turn, the round ends and scoring occurs. The Bull Heads on the cards "won" are counted and noted on a score sheet (not supplied). If a player reaches or passes 66 then the game is over and the winner is the player with the least points. If no one reaches 66 then shuffle the deck, deal 10 cards to each player and start again, playing all cards out as before. After 2 rounds it is almost a certainty that someone will have reached 66 but if not, then play again.

The cards are marked 1-99 and in a variety of colours which are there to make the game look pleasing to the eye and also so you can quickly see, at a glance, which line is likely to be the highest value (in Bulls Heads). The colours indicate higher scores (Bull Heads) on the cards. White cards are only worth 1 Bull Head, Blue cards are valued at 2, Green at 3 and Red at 5 with the 55 being specially multi-coloured and with a high value of 7.