Marcio Ferreira
Portugal
Viana do Castelo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!

Am I getting this right?

What is the purpose of preparing flipped champions during the End Phase?

Given that they will be prepared on the start of next turn...

Or is it different in case of a multiplayer game, in which champs can block multiple times (one time in each opponent's turn)?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Schaub
Switzerland
Thun
Bern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goryon wrote:
Or is it different in case of a multiplayer game, in which champs can block multiple times (one time in each opponent's turn)?


That's why.

It doesn't matter much in a 2-player game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yeah mostly for multiplayer. Though, even in a 2-player game, it's different in some situations. For example, on your turn:

1. You attack with a Human Token

2. Your opponent blocks with Noble Unicorn

==> Noble Unicorn is now flipped

3. You use Turn on Noble Unicorn, selecting the mode, "If it is your turn, gain control of target champion."

==> Noble Unicorn is now under your control and is still flipped

4. You end your turn

5. All your flipped champions are now prepared

==> Noble Unicorn is prepared

6. Your opponent's turn starts

In this scenario, your Noble Unicorn is prepared and can block. If there wasn't a step 5 above, your Noble Unicorn would remain flipped, because only the player whose turn it is prepares all their champions at the beginning of their turn.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Iradian
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Pretty much for multiplayer purposes. The flipped champions prepared is simply saying "these guys can block again"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcio Ferreira
Portugal
Viana do Castelo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You will probably hit me - I had a blast playing Epic WRONG it seems.

Quote:
No one may play cards or powers during this phase.
Deal with any “at end of turn” triggered abilities.
The player whose turn it is discards down to seven cards (if they have more than that in their hand).
All damage is removed from champions and all flipped champions are prepared.


So indeed this happens at the end of every single player's turns FOR EVERY player in the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yep! The design principle it extends from the 2-player game is that you can usually either attack with (or otherwise expend) your champion, or save it to block, but not both. In a game with 3+ players, this means that if you expend your champion, you can't defend against anyone, and if you don't expend it, you can defend against everyone in turn (until/unless someone breaks it of course, or you voluntarily expend it as with Hunting Raptors).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Smith
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
greylag wrote:
Yep! The design principle it extends from the 2-player game is that you can usually either attack with (or otherwise expend) your champion, or save it to block, but not both. In a game with 3+ players, this means that if you expend your champion, you can't defend against anyone, and if you don't expend it, you can defend against everyone in turn (until/unless someone breaks it of course, or you voluntarily expend it as with Hunting Raptors).


Wait a minute. You prep at the end of your turn so why couldn't you block after attacking?

I think I'm missing something because the rule that you can'tblock unless you're prepped, doesn't make much sense if your champions always are.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jo Bartok
Germany
Zwingenberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Interaction leads to Immersion.
badge
Immersion leads to Fun.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No you don't prepare exhaused cards. You just unflip flipped cards. AFAIU
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sideways (expended) champions can't block or use expend powers.
Flipped (upside down) champions can't block but can use expend powers.
A champion can only attack if it's right way up.
Flipped champions get put right way up again at end of you turn.
All your champions (flipped, expended) get put right way up at start of your turn.

So if you attack, you get expended, and can't block on the next player's turn.

But if you don't attack, you stay right way up and can block on the next player's turn.

You can even be sneaky if you have an expend power (like Hunting Raptors) and not use the card on your turn. On your opponent's, flip it to block, then in the combat, turn it sideways to use its expend power, getting better value.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.