Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Received my copy last week and I'm looking forward to getting a chance for it to hit the table. Before that happens though, I've got a couple of questions from the rulebook - wondering if someone can help me with these:

1) When during setup do you determine if you get trick markers on a trick? That is, how do Specialists interact? Can an Engineer's trick get trick markers if its requirements are met? Can a Manager's components count towards your starting trick and let you meet its requirements?

2) When creating a link during the Theater Set-up Trick action, the fame/money bonus goes to the active player (i.e. the one doing the Set-up action), and if there's a Trickerion shard in the link, both the active player and the other player whose trick is part of the link get a shard. If you're making a link with your another one of your own tricks, do you get two shards, or just the one?

Thanks to anyone who can help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Received my copy last week and I'm looking forward to getting a chance for it to hit the table. Before that happens though, I've got a couple of questions from the rulebook - wondering if someone can help me with these:

1) When during setup do you determine if you get trick markers on a trick? That is, how do Specialists interact? Can an Engineer's trick get trick markers if its requirements are met? Can a Manager's components count towards your starting trick and let you meet its requirements?


As I understand it, yes. You auto-setup any trick for which you meet the component requirements, regardless of where the trick is or where the components are. This is unlikely (or even impossible) to be for more than one trick.

LeonardQuirm wrote:
2) When creating a link during the Theater Set-up Trick action, the fame/money bonus goes to the active player (i.e. the one doing the Set-up action), and if there's a Trickerion shard in the link, both the active player and the other player whose trick is part of the link get a shard. If you're making a link with your another one of your own tricks, do you get two shards, or just the one?


Just the one - the shards go to each player involved, and in this case that'll be just you.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Follow-up question to no. 2:

If you use the Re-Schedule action to move a trick marker, you don't receive Link Bonuses. I presume (since it doesn't say otherwise) that if you linked via a Shard circle, neither you nor an opponent you linked with would receive a Shard. Is that right?

Also, there is a potential ambiguity in the text for the Link Bonus:

Rulebook wrote:
The player who created the Link(s) immediately receives a bonus for each Link depending on the Fame Threshold of the Trick he created the Link with.


I have taken this to mean:
"...depending on the Fame Threshold of the Trick he used to create the Link"

But it could be interpreted to mean:
"...depending on the Fame Threshold of the Trick he linked to."

Am I correct with the first interpretation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cagey McCageface
United States
Clawson
MI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moose Malloy wrote:
Follow-up question to no. 2:

If you use the Re-Schedule action to move a trick marker, you don't receive Link Bonuses. I presume (since it doesn't say otherwise) that if you linked via a Shard circle, neither you nor an opponent you linked with would receive a Shard. Is that right?

Also, there is a potential ambiguity in the text for the Link Bonus:

Rulebook wrote:
The player who created the Link(s) immediately receives a bonus for each Link depending on the Fame Threshold of the Trick he created the Link with.


I have taken this to mean:
"...depending on the Fame Threshold of the Trick he used to create the Link"




I would interpret it this way.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Me too, although I can totally see where you're coming from to not be totally sure.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Thanks Jason and Andy, I thought that was the natural interpretation, but there are some other sections of the rules where the English translation hasn't quite carried through as intended, so I thought it was worth checking.

Any thoughts on awarding Shard links after a Re-schedule action? I think no, to either player.

I haven't quite got my head around why you would re-schedule a marker. I'm sure it will become clear once I play the game. I'm thinking it's probably to create a better sequence for you to add another marker, in playbills that weren't performed last turn?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Currently at 1:2 ratio, getting better every week
badge
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you reschedule a trick, you don't get the link bonus when creating the link, but you still get it when the trick is performed, correct?

I think that's the case, so I would be willing to reschedule a trick if I were the Sunday performer, and it looked like a showcard with my trick on it was not going to be available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Catley
United Kingdom
Hull
East Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Cardboardjunkie wrote:
When you reschedule a trick, you don't get the link bonus when creating the link, but you still get it when the trick is performed, correct?


Yes, I believe so, but not the Shard.

Quote:
I think that's the case, so I would be willing to reschedule a trick if I were the Sunday performer, and it looked like a showcard with my trick on it was not going to be available.


That whole end of the game (you know, the main scoring bit!) is not gelling in my mind until I see it played. I'm not sure how you would ensure during the character assignment phase that the show you want to do would still be available by Sunday. I think it might be a bit like "I'll slice the cake and you choose the piece you want".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think rescheduling would be good for a) making room for other links and b) setting up other tricks to link to. I can imagine some pretty spectacular point scoring moves if you get this right - as well as stealing away points and shards that someone else expected to make that turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple more questions (ordering of actions)
Some more questions, regarding the ordering of things happening when a worker has been placed:

(numbering continuing from my initial questions)

3) Is the opportunity to use a Trickerion Shard to gain an extra action point limited to the moment a worker arrives at a space, or can it be at any time they're there, up until the end of their action period (moving onto the next player)?

A time it might matter is if, say, you arrive at the Dark Alley with 2 action points, intending to spend one on a card and one on Prophecy alteration, but then when you draw the first card the next one revealed is great and you want to get another action point so as to grab it. Can you at that point spend a shard to get back to the two points you need?

4) I assume that you can use a Special Assignment ability at any point during that worker's activation, correct? It can only be used for one use of the action, I know, but I assume that doesn't have to be the worker's first action - or even their first use of the specific action, right? So you could for example do a normal Trick placement, followed by a Special Assignment Trick placement.

Thanks for the help so far!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LeonardQuirm wrote:
Some more questions, regarding the ordering of things happening when a worker has been placed:

(numbering continuing from my initial questions)

3) Is the opportunity to use a Trickerion Shard to gain an extra action point limited to the moment a worker arrives at a space, or can it be at any time they're there, up until the end of their action period (moving onto the next player)?

A time it might matter is if, say, you arrive at the Dark Alley with 2 action points, intending to spend one on a card and one on Prophecy alteration, but then when you draw the first card the next one revealed is great and you want to get another action point so as to grab it. Can you at that point spend a shard to get back to the two points you need?


I would say that you can use a shard at any point, yes. With the proviso that you're only using the one per worker placement, of course.

LeonardQuirm wrote:
4) I assume that you can use a Special Assignment ability at any point during that worker's activation, correct? It can only be used for one use of the action, I know, but I assume that doesn't have to be the worker's first action - or even their first use of the specific action, right? So you could for example do a normal Trick placement, followed by a Special Assignment Trick placement.


I haven't played with the Dark Alley yet, but that seems to make sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
LeonardQuirm wrote:
3) Is the opportunity to use a Trickerion Shard to gain an extra action point limited to the moment a worker arrives at a space, or can it be at any time they're there, up until the end of their action period (moving onto the next player)?

A time it might matter is if, say, you arrive at the Dark Alley with 2 action points, intending to spend one on a card and one on Prophecy alteration, but then when you draw the first card the next one revealed is great and you want to get another action point so as to grab it. Can you at that point spend a shard to get back to the two points you need?

I would say that you can use a shard at any point, yes. With the proviso that you're only using the one per worker placement, of course.


Looking again at the rulebook, the description for "Enhancing Characters" - the process of using a shard to give them an extra action point - is defined as happening when the character is placed, not "while at the location". So we may be wrong on this one - I now think the rules explicitly limit it to making the decision to use a shard before you take any actions.

Thanks for the responses though!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.