Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Evolution» Forums » Rules

Subject: yet another cooperation and foraging question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pablo Pizarro
Chile
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
We got this situation last time we played

A) population 1:
Burrowing
Long Neck
Cooperation

B) population 2:
Burrowing
Long Neck
Cooperation

C) population 4:
Burrowing
Foraging

How much food does specie C get?
we played as he would get 4 as he gets one food from the cooperation chain from A (+1 for foraging) and then another one for the cooperation from B (+1 from foraging.

is that correct? in that case it is a really strong combo as he didn't have to do anything and got 7 food each turn plus they were all protected.

Thanks!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liz Burton
United States
Bethesda
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ppizarroj wrote:
We got this situation last time we played

A: B: C
Burrowing Burrowing Burrowing
Long Neck Long Neck Foraging
Cooperation -> Cooperation ->
Population 1 2 4


How much food does specie C get?
we played as he would get 4 as he gets one food from the cooperation chain from A (+1 for foraging) and then another one for the cooperation from B (+1 from foraging.

is that correct? in that case it is a really strong combo as he didn't have to do anything and got 7 food each turn plus they were all protected.

Thanks!


Exactly Right!

To clarify, here's what they look like, right?


A: B: C
Burrowing Burrowing Burrowing
Long Neck Long Neck Foraging
Cooperation -> Cooperation ->
Population 1 2 4


Spoiler (click to reveal)
Use [c] and then [/ c], without the space inside, to keep BGG from re-formatting the spacing.


Ok! Trait cards are revealed. Then, Species A gets a food from the Food Bank for Long Neck, which gives B a food because of Cooperation, who then gives C two food from Cooperation (on B) and Foraging (on C).

THEN B has Long Neck, so he gets a food from the Food Bank, and thus C gets two again. So, before the cards in the Watering Hole are revealed, here's what you have.

A = 1 food (fully fed and Burrowed)
B = 2 food (fully fed and Burrowed)
C = 4 food (fully fed and Burrowed)



Nice chain. You're going to soon come across Intelligent Carnivores who will rip it apart, if they're smart.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ariel
Chile
Vina del Mar
V. Region
flag msg tools
badge
constantly thinking on variants to create and implement
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ppizarroj wrote:
Is that correct? in that case it is a really strong combo as he didn't have to do anything and got 7 food each turn plus they were all protected.

Each round, right? A turn is a single feeding action.

Yes, it's a strong combo. But take into account that: a carnivore with intelligence could attack them easily, and you are taking food from the bank (letting more food for the other players in the watering hole).

So, depending of the scenario, could be more or less good.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Doesn't the Foraging card specify extra food only from the watering hole? So the cooperation from the food bank would not allow the extra?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liz Burton
United States
Bethesda
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
claudermilk wrote:
Doesn't the Foraging card specify extra food only from the watering hole? So the cooperation from the food bank would not allow the extra?


Foraging: "Anytime this species eats Plant Food, take 1 additional Plant Food from the same source."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha, memory fail. I'll crawl back under my rock now (fully fed, burrowing achieved).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
claudermilk wrote:
Aha, memory fail. I'll crawl back under my rock now (fully fed, burrowing achieved).
I don't have the 1e cards with me to be sure, but I think the original card had the wording you're recalling.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, we changed it for 2nd edition.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Pizarro
Chile
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
manutd03 wrote:


Exactly Right!

To clarify, here's what they look like, right?


A: B: C
Burrowing Burrowing Burrowing
Long Neck Long Neck Foraging
Cooperation -> Cooperation ->
Population 1 2 4


Spoiler (click to reveal)
Use [c] and then [/ c], without the space inside, to keep BGG from re-formatting the spacing.


Ok! Trait cards are revealed. Then, Species A gets a food from the Food Bank for Long Neck, which gives B a food because of Cooperation, who then gives C two food from Cooperation (on B) and Foraging (on C).

THEN B has Long Neck, so he gets a food from the Food Bank, and thus C gets two again. So, before the cards in the Watering Hole are revealed, here's what you have.

A = 1 food (fully fed and Burrowed)
B = 2 food (fully fed and Burrowed)
C = 4 food (fully fed and Burrowed)



Nice chain. You're going to soon come across Intelligent Carnivores who will rip it apart, if they're smart.


Thanks for the clarification!!


Chango wrote:
ppizarroj wrote:
Is that correct? in that case it is a really strong combo as he didn't have to do anything and got 7 food each turn plus they were all protected.

Each round, right? A turn is a single feeding action.

Yes, it's a strong combo. But take into account that: a carnivore with intelligence could attack them easily, and you are taking food from the bank (letting more food for the other players in the watering hole).

So, depending of the scenario, could be more or less good.


hey! Nice to see a compatriot

The watering hole had almost no food on it (4~5 max each turn) so it was a very strong (and successful!) combo
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.