Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Volle Hütte» Forums » Rules

Subject: More rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joshua Bluestein
United States
Westford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A group of us (three) tried to play this game for the first time last night, and we ran into some difficulty understanding the rules. Some of these questions have been resolved by searching here, but there are several more that I'm still not quite sure of.

Going in order from the rules:

1) During setup, each player gets three installation tiles -- I assume they're supposed to play them immediately into their restaurant, right?

2) When expanding a restaurant, the rules have the sentence 'Where and how many installation-cards are played is decide by each player for themselves'. This implies more choice in this option than the rest of the description hints at. So, do you have an option not to play an installation tile that you take?

3) When moving customers via a Type B action card, the rules state that a group must stay together. So if you move four customers from a pool table to terrace seating, I assume it's sufficient that they all get terrace seating at the same restaurant, right?

4) No such restriction is mentioned for Type A action cards, although the example in the rules seems to imply it.

5) When you play an action card to move customers from another player's restaurant, do you get to specifically indicate which customers move? For example, if a player has two blue customers and two yellow ones and you're moving two customers, can you make sure they're the blue ones?

6) Can you break up a pool table or football table group? (Move two or even three customers away and leave one or two there?)

7) If customers move within the same restaurant (from tables to bar, for example), does the owner collect payment? The rules say that payment is collected when customers leave the restaurant...but the summary here on BGG says you collect even when just relocating.

8) If you have two action cards, one of which has no effect (say, moving customers off of a dance floor with no occupied dance floors), and one of which has an effect you don't like, are you obligated to play the one that has an effect?

I think that's about it...

Josh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Alberg
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Whoopee Doopee, we have fun!
badge
You lost the game!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jbluestein wrote:

1) During setup, each player gets three installation tiles -- I assume they're supposed to play them immediately into their restaurant, right?

Yes, the three installation tiles are played immediately.

Quote:
2) When expanding a restaurant, the rules have the sentence 'Where and how many installation-cards are played is decide by each player for themselves'. This implies more choice in this option than the rest of the description hints at. So, do you have an option not to play an installation tile that you take?

No. If you take an installation tile, then you must play it. Your choice is one of the two displayed tiles.

Quote:
3) When moving customers via a Type B action card, the rules state that a group must stay together. So if you move four customers from a pool table to terrace seating, I assume it's sufficient that they all get terrace seating at the same restaurant, right?

Yes, that is correct. They all come from one tile, but they may be split among several tiles in the target pub.

Quote:
4) No such restriction is mentioned for Type A action cards, although the example in the rules seems to imply it.

The same restriction applies. Whenever you move a group, the whole group has to find seats in the target pub.

Quote:
5) When you play an action card to move customers from another player's restaurant, do you get to specifically indicate which customers move? For example, if a player has two blue customers and two yellow ones and you're moving two customers, can you make sure they're the blue ones?

You target an installation tile, which contains patrons. You cannot target different patrons from multiple tiles. How would feel if your blue girlfriend upped and left with the hunky blue guy at the next table?

Quote:
6) Can you break up a pool table or football table group? (Move two or even three customers away and leave one or two there?)

No. You target the installation tile, and move all patrons on that tile.

Quote:
7) If customers move within the same restaurant (from tables to bar, for example), does the owner collect payment? The rules say that payment is collected when customers leave the restaurant...but the summary here on BGG says you collect even when just relocating.

I think the summary is wrong. As you say, the rules state that payment is collected when customers leave the restaurant.

Quote:
8) If you have two action cards, one of which has no effect (say, moving customers off of a dance floor with no occupied dance floors), and one of which has an effect you don't like, are you obligated to play the one that has an effect?

YES. devil
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Bluestein
United States
Westford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spielfreak wrote:
jbluestein wrote:


5) When you play an action card to move customers from another player's restaurant, do you get to specifically indicate which customers move? For example, if a player has two blue customers and two yellow ones and you're moving two customers, can you make sure they're the blue ones?

You target an installation tile, which contains patrons. You cannot target different patrons from multiple tiles. How would feel if your blue girlfriend upped and left with the hunky blue guy at the next table?


What about an action card that specifies up to four patrons from a tile that only holds two (like terrace or indoor or bar seating)? Why have any action cards for more than two that go from tables at all?

Am I misremembering and are there in fact no cards of this type?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Alberg
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Whoopee Doopee, we have fun!
badge
You lost the game!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jbluestein wrote:
Spielfreak wrote:
jbluestein wrote:


5) When you play an action card to move customers from another player's restaurant, do you get to specifically indicate which customers move? For example, if a player has two blue customers and two yellow ones and you're moving two customers, can you make sure they're the blue ones?

You target an installation tile, which contains patrons. You cannot target different patrons from multiple tiles. How would feel if your blue girlfriend upped and left with the hunky blue guy at the next table?


What about an action card that specifies up to four patrons from a tile that only holds two (like terrace or indoor or bar seating)? Why have any action cards for more than two that go from tables at all?

Am I misremembering and are there in fact no cards of this type?


All "A" cards that depict a bar, terrace, or table each show that up to two patrons are taken from this type of tile. The rest (pool table, foosball, and dance floor) each show that up to four patrons are taken. All "B" cards show that up to four patrons may be moved to the destination. But keep in mind that in both cases, the source is always one tile, while the destination may be multiple tiles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Bluestein
United States
Westford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, that all makes much more sense now.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.