Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sushi Go!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nigiri/Wasabi rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giselle Mazzei
Canada
flag msg tools
On the first turn, I pick a nigiri card.

On the second turn, I pick a wasabi card - Can I put the nigiri card on top of the wasabi card?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wasabi only works for the next nigiri.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Suitland
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beautifulstranger wrote:
On the first turn, I pick a nigiri card.

On the second turn, I pick a wasabi card - Can I put the nigiri card on top of the wasabi card?


To be as clear as possible: No, you cannot.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Feras H
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As above.

If you have Nigiri, Draw Wasabi. Too late.

If you have Wasabi already on the table, Draw Nigiri, It goes straight on-top of the Wasabi already in play.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only time you get a choice is if you use chopsticks and draw 2 Sushi. Obviously only choosing between the 2 you are drafting and 1 MUST go on the Wasabi.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Charters
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

One other part of the wasabi rule:

Once you play a wasabi, the next nigiri you play must go on top of it.

In other words, you can't play an egg nigiri on the table and "save" the wasabi (that you had already played) for a squid nigiri that is coming.

Of course, you can play any other type cards(pudding, tempura, sashimi, maki, etc...) in order to 'wait' for a squid nigiri. But if you play a nigiri, it has to go on an open wasabi if you have one.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xander
Switzerland
Basel
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
richcharters wrote:

Once you play a wasabi, the next nigiri you play must go on top of it.

Thanks for this clarification.

The Zoch edition seems contradictory or at least unclear about this: the card text does say "next Nigiri", but the text in the rules booklet only specifies the "one Nigiri per Wasabi" restriction, and that the Nigiri doesn't need to be the very next card you play after the Wasabi.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.