Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Close Combat uestion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Giacchino
United States
Rancho Santa Margarita
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If someone decides to evade, can you momentum advance and bonus combat again if the piece qualifies to do so? In other words does the evade work like a retreat?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John O'Haver
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Pet photographer, that's me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If a unit evades it denies the attacking unit the ability to Advance into the vacated hex AND make the subsequent follow up attack.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Giacchino
United States
Rancho Santa Margarita
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you! We were used to Memoir 44 and Battle Cry, this has many more variables in it, but lots of fun!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the best reasons to evade is to deny the other player momentum and bonus combat. It's a short board and you can't evade forever, but sometimes it's a key move. Here's an answer to the question you haven't asked yet-- if the attack on the evader gets lucky and-- even tho you only hit on "color,"-- eliminates the evading unit, the attacker still does not get to momentum advance or bonus attack.

Note for the folks who can't stand light troops "outrunning" cavalry-- it's not running away-- think of it as a skirmish action of feints and maneuvers that keeps the attacker from advancing (and which ends up 1 or 2 hexes back--yielding ground is a cost of evading.) That's why the evading unit is still at risk of being hit (condolences for those who "hate" that a light unit might get hit at all from a heavy unit) but why it's not simply about 'speed."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Takacs
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember too that when light infantry evade, they are tactically withdrawing from the cavalry advance. The fact that the light infantry do not have to stay in a tight formation allows them this flexibility. This is not a situation where they are routed and are being pursued by the cavalry. The issue is not whether a horse is faster than a human. Under the battlefield conditions the cavalry must not recklessly advance in the face of an infantry unit who is tactically withdrawing and still ready to fight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.