Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: does a bridge terminate a road? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregory Wong
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the tile with the bridge going over a river terminate a road the way a junction does? The rules do not explicitly list the bridge as a terminating tile, and the rules for the river tiles are a terse paragraph at the end that don't address this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe (NOT based on any rules I have read) that the road going over the bridge does continue -- after all, that's what a bridge does.

That said, there is a related tile which has one road going over another road. Do BOTH of them continue, even the one underneath the bridge? I would think they do, but our gaming group had some debate about it and no clear ruling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Schmidt
United States
Maquoketa
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A bridge doesn't end a road. It doesn't matter if it goes over a river or another road. The road below the bridge continues also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cristelli
United States
Milton
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
They both continue on the double road tile. The under and over roads remain intact.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty M
Ireland
Fermoy
Co Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wasn't sure about this until I noticed that one of the tiles on the river expansion shows a monastery on one side of the river with a road crossing perpendicularly over the river via a bridge.

If the bridge ended the road, then there would be a whole section of road contained entirely within one tile - from the monastery to the bridge. This seems entirely illogical to me.

I therefore have played since then with the rule that the bridges do not end roads.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
Greece
Marousi
Athens
flag msg tools
Game on!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also agree that the bridge does not terminate a road.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.