Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Keyes
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
Looking at roberious' paint jobs in the images, i am completely floored (esp. since he claims one of them was his first mini painting). i'm a newbie painter, but i'm not seeing results like these.

Are these figures easy to paint? Also, how large are they... 28mm? Do they come with much extra flash, etc., or are they pretty clean?

As a newbie painter, i'm not a stranger to TMP, etc., but if anyone also has tips in terms of how to get to quality like the ones in the image gallery for Hybrid, i'd appreciate it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
mbmbmbmbmb
I wouldn't recommend Hybrid figures for newbie experimenting - they really are for experienced painters. There's quite a bit of assembly involved, the pieces are very fine and fragile and need careful pinning with assembly, there's detailed clean up involved - it's a job that requires figure assembly and painting experience all round. And they ain't cheap!

Much better to experiment on some cheap GW plastic figures and get your chops happening first!

I've been painting figures for 20+ years and I found them fiddly and tricky.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Mellon
United States
Erie
PA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Pick up a few cheap figs to try out. Then have at them. The quality of the Rackham mini's is so good, you'll try harder, At least that's how it went for me.

For tips on painting try Brushthralls and Dr. Faust's Painting Clinic. They're two great sites to pick up pointers.