Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sails of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Which red border card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul R
msg tools
mbmbmb
We played a game where a ship had backing sails. On the next turn, the wind turned low which caused the sails to be struck. Since the sails are struck, no manuvers are planed. The next movment card was played with backing sails and now the ship stopped. On the next turn, the ship is taken aback but it cannot plan any maneuvers. On the next turn the sails are raised to battle sails so the sails are now backing due to low wind strength but is still taken aback. So, my question is now the ship can plan maneuvers do they use the single hour glass or double hour glass red border cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well,a subtlke question. Let's read.

Quote:
To read the wind, the player places an attitude indicator beside the ship, in the same direction shown by the wind gauge, so the tip of the indicator points toward the main mast of the ship. The player notes the color of the edge on the ship’s base where it crosses the attitude indicator. The color determines whether the ship is beating/running (orange), reaching (green), or taken aback (red).


Quote:
If the ship is taken aback for two or more consecutive turns, the line marked with two sandglasses is used to move the ship.


Since the wind has come in over the red edge for more than one turn, "the ship is taken aback for two or more consecutive turns" and so the two sandglasses arrows is used.

It is also reasonable - the one sunglass arrow is used to simulate inertia of a ship moving with favourable wind, and in your case the ship is not moving. So no inertia.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul R
msg tools
mbmbmb
I had thought that since you could not plan any maneuvers, you would need to use the single hourglass when you started moving. Our group did discussed this an eventually came to the same conclusion that the single hourglass was the remaning forward momentum until the wind finally forced the ship backwards.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, but the ship stopped. So no more momentum, isn't it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul R
msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, that is correct. Thanks for the quick response.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course you can houserule it differently, if it suits you better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.