Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is a free action ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
pilum pilum
France
flag msg tools
mb
Sometimes, a card, or another game effect, allows a ship to carry out a "free action".

But the card, or the game effect, doesn't specify what type of "free action" is allowed.

If someone has the list of the "free actions" allowed in this game...

Thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pilum2008 wrote:
Sometimes, a card, or another game effect, allows a ship to carry out a "free action".

But the card, or the game effect, doesn't specify what type of "free action" is allowed.

If someone has the list of the "free actions" allowed in this game...

Thanks.




Do you have some examples of which cards you mean? Off the top of my head I cannot remember any that don't specify the free action you get to take.

Found one. "Advanced Sensors"

Unless otherwise specified it is any of the actions that your ship normally has available. So either from its own abilities or action bar or any upgrade cards it has. Nearly all cards granting free actions specify which action or actions they allow you to do though.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Free action is an action outside of the (normally) one action you receive during the activation step (unless stressed).

Most times, like said above, the free action is restricted. Some abilities allow to use any action you have available from your action bar and upgrade cards.

Squad Leader is another upgrade card that grants a (non-specific) free action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Crane
United States
Sherman Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
mbmb
Also, though not directly the question you asked, a common mistake is taking a free action while stressed. You cannot ever take an action while stressed, whether the action is normal or free, unless an ability specifically allows you to take actions while stressed.

So squad leader, for example, won't allow you to give a stressed ship a free action.

However, assigning tokens is not the same as taking the similar action. So something which tells you to assign a ship a focus token or acquire a target lock is totally fine to do while stressed, even though that ship would not be able to take a focus or target lock action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A dumb name that confuses people.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Jew
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It will say free action... usually in some type of special ability card. For instance: Elite Pilot Talent/Expert Handling "Action: Perform a free Barrel roll action. If you do not have the {barrel roll} action icon, receive 1 stress token. You may then remove 1 enemy target lock from your ship.

This special ability card is an "Action" and it has "free" in it's description.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Martin
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Can you use a pilot ability while stressed?. An ability that does not mention the word action.

The ability is to change an eyeball for an evade if defending.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Phil Goodroll wrote:
Can you use a pilot ability while stressed?. An ability that does not mention the word action.

The ability is to change an eyeball for an evade if defending.

Unless it specifies that it's an action, or specifies you can't do it whilst stressed, you can do it whilst stressed.

Do what the card says. Don't do what the card doesn't say*.

*Unless the FAQ says otherwise in which case do that.

I'm assuming this is Luke Skywalker's ability, which works fine whilst stressed. it might be Poe Dameron's which also does, but requires you to get a focus token somehow to activate it which is sometimes made more difficult by stress.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.