GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,505 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Red Dragon Inn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Inn Pays for "Fire Ambrosia, Nectar of the Gods" drink? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Zeek LTK
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The drink card called "Fire Ambrosia, Nectar of the Gods" states that "you may pay 2 Gold to the Inn. If you do: +1 alcohol, +4 fortitude."

If you play a card that says "Play this card when you would lose Gold... Use Gold from the Inn, rather than from your own Stash", does that mean the Inn pays 2 gold and you take the effects of the card?

Or do those kind of cards only work when you are required to pay gold, not when it is optional (like this drink)?



Specific card in question is from Ozrik, "Gold? I have a spell for that!"

It reads: "Play this card when you would lose Gold. (This includes paying Gold, anteing Gold, or having Gold taken from you.)

Use Gold from the Inn, rather than from your own Stash.

IF Earth Element: You also gain 1 gold from the Inn."


So it does say "paying", but again, is the fact that it is an optional payment relevant at all? Also, is the fact that the payment is 2 gold, rather than the standard 1 gold, relevant at all?

In the game Ozrik wound up getting: +1 alcohol, +4 fortitude, and +1 gold because of this card/drink combo! lol So I was just wondering if this was resolved correctly, or if Ozrik got more than he should have.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Gray
United States
Rockvale
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the card doesn't state a limit for the amount of gold you don't have to pay. But stuff like anteing in a round of gambling are multiple occurences, so you can't use a "pay from the inn" card to get out of paying your portion of a large pot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Waller
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a card allows you to avoid paying, you avoid paying all of the gold. So yes, you may pay for "both gold" on Fine Ambrosia with just one card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.