Some cards (such as Surprise Attack) provide the ability to "put a champion from your hand into play". In this situation must the player pay the champion's cost?
Nope. Generally if you literally do what the cards say, you will get it right. "Put it into play" is not the same thing as "playing a card." You don't have to pay for it.
Many people make this mistake when they are learning -- this is something we are going to address in a rule book update.
Thank you so much for playing. =)
- Nathan Davis
Studio Manager, WWG