GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,928 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 more target lock questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Smith
England
Suffolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all, I have 2 more questions regarding target lock...

1. When a ship has been locked on by a target lock, can it do a barrel roll to remove the target lock?

2. When you target lock a ship, do you lose the target lock if that ship then moves out of 1-3 range?

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Santucci
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Alex,

1. No. A. Barrel Roll Cannot Shake Off A Lock. As Far As I Know There Is No Maneuver That Can.

2. No. Once A Ship Is Locked On It Stays Regardless Of Range. However, The Locker Can Move It To Another Enemy Ship Within 3 As An Action.

However; There Are Probably Cards Or Special Abilities That Remove Locks.

Peter

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron D
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
Mercury is my dog's name.
badge
I like hats.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HuntersMoon wrote:
Hi all, I have 2 more questions regarding target lock...

1. When a ship has been locked on by a target lock, can it do a barrel roll to remove the target lock?

2. When you target lock a ship, do you lose the target lock if that ship then moves out of 1-3 range?

Cheers


1 - No, a standard barrel roll will not shake a target lock. The barrel roll granted by Expert Handling can though (which is why one might consider Expert Handling on a ship that already has access to the barrel roll action).

2 - No, the lock remains regardless of range, until something happens to get rid of it (like spending it, locking on to a different ship, or losing it because of some other game effect like Expert Handling or the destruction ofthe locked ship).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Smith
England
Suffolk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheers guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HuntersMoon wrote:

2. When you target lock a ship, do you lose the target lock if that ship then moves out of 1-3 range?


I didn't know that? we play that you can never change the target lock, what you are saying here has more sense and make us (my kids and me) very happy, because several times was needed.
Could you address me to the rule that says that you can change the targeted ship?... to unlock and move it to another ship... both ship must be in range of the targetter?.... (sorry about my English)

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Santucci
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Eduardo,

Page 9 Of The First Core Set Rules:

"Target lock tokens are only removed if the locking ship
either acquires a target lock on a different ship or
spends the target lock during the Combat phase."

"Exception: Certain abilities may also allow a
targeted ship to remove a target lock."

Page 11 Of The Force Awakens Core Set "Learning To Play" Rules:

"Each ship can maintain only one target lock. If a
ship acquires a new target lock, it must remove its
previous target lock."

Page 3 Of The Force Awakens Core Set "Rules Reference" Rules:

"A ship can maintain one target lock. If a ship acquires
a new target lock, it must remove its old target lock."

Be Aware, You Still Must Use An Action To Target Lock The New Ship. Only The New Ship Must Be Within 3 Range.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your answers, no doubts about this now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antony Meredith
Canada
flag msg tools
psantucci wrote:
Hello Eduardo,

Page 9 Of The First Core Set Rules:

"Target lock tokens are only removed if the locking ship
either acquires a target lock on a different ship or
spends the target lock during the Combat phase."

"


Me and my buddies have debated about what this means.

When it says, aquires a target lock on a different ship. Does this mean I can move my target lock to another ship without spending the lock?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trodge wrote:
When it says, aquires a target lock on a different ship. Does this mean I can move my target lock to another ship without spending the lock?

Yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.