GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,522 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can 4 cards be palyed as a locomotive card when claiming a ferry route? Or must you exchange the 4 x cards to 'buy' a locomotive and then place it and the other carriage cards to claim a route?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin S
United Kingdom
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Found my answer tucked away on this thread:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1484994/two-qs-scoring-loco...

You can use 4 x cards as a locomotive when claiming a ferry route.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CHARALAMPOS PAPADAKIS
Greece
HERAKLION CRETE
Non-US/Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Martin Sif you read the original rules of Ticket to Ride game or Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards. When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin Sif you read the original rules of Ticket to Ride game or Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards. When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.


The rules for UK specifically say you can use four cards as a locomotive. They say nothing about that being forbidden with a ferry.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Right. And the confirming answer from the other thread came directly from the publisher. The following is a link to the specific post: Re: Two Qs - Scoring & Locomotives
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven F.
Sweden
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin Sif you read the original rules of Ticket to Ride game or Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards. When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.


I am afraid this statement is completely wrong.

CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin S if you read the original rules of Ticket to Ride game or Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route ...

There are no ferry routes in original Ticket to Ride.

CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin S if you read the original rules of ... Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards.

That rule is introduced for Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom. In Ticket to Ride: Europe, there is no such rule.

CharisP2014 wrote:
When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.

No such restriction exists even in Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom (as has been told in earlier comments).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alina Volana
Norway
flag msg tools
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Fomalhaut wrote:
CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin S if you read the original rules of ... Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards.

That rule is introduced for Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom. In Ticket to Ride: Europe, there is no such rule.

CharisP2014 wrote:
When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.

No such restriction exists even in Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom (as has been told in earlier comments).

Technically, it was introduced in Nordic Countries, specifically applying to Ferries; any 3 as Locomotive (including the Ferry requirement), Locomotives also count as wild.

(There's also an any-4-as-wild rule for the Murmansk-Lieksa special route, which is contrived by the Locomotive restrictions of the map. Locomotives aren't considered wild for that route, but can be used as quarter-wilds, just like any other card.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven F.
Sweden
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Alina_Volana wrote:
Fomalhaut wrote:
CharisP2014 wrote:
Martin S if you read the original rules of ... Ticket to Ride Europe you will see at the rulebook that for the Ferry route you need spesificaly one or 2 Locomotives and the other would be same color train cards or 4cards=1 Locomotive to match the color with the rest cards.

That rule is introduced for Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom. In Ticket to Ride: Europe, there is no such rule.

CharisP2014 wrote:
When you see printed the symbol of locomotive on the map you must give 1 Locomotive card not 4 other cards to create locomotive.

No such restriction exists even in Ticket to Ride: United Kingdom (as has been told in earlier comments).

Technically, it was introduced in Nordic Countries, specifically applying to Ferries; any 3 as Locomotive (including the Ferry requirement), Locomotives also count as wild.


In TtR: Nordic Countries that is valid only for the ferry requirement, I would say. The other spaces of a ferry can be claimed with locomotive cards or cards of the proper colour, but not with "3 cards for a loco". (After lots of discussions, Alan Moon confirmed that himself in a thread elsewhere.) On the UK map every route space can use the "4 cards for a loco" rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 4 x cards = Locomotibe = Ferry?
Fomalhaut wrote:
In TtR: Nordic Countries that is valid only for the ferry requirement, I would say. The other spaces of a ferry can be claimed with locomotive cards or cards of the proper colour, but not with "3 cards for a loco". (After lots of discussions, Alan Moon confirmed that himself in a thread elsewhere.) On the UK map every route space can use the "4 cards for a loco" rule.

Here is the link to the report from Alan Moon: Re: Use of three-card-jokers in ferries

The idea is the following:

For a locomotive spot on a ferry, you can play either a locomotive card or any three cards.

For a non-locomotive spot on a ferry, you can play either a card of the indicated color or a locomotive card.

Thus, if there is a 2-card yellow ferry requiring one locomotive, you can play one locomotive, and three non-yellow cards.

But the three cards don't count as a wild for the yellow spot. Instead they fill the locomotive slot. The locomotive counts as a wild for the yellow spot.

You could not take this route by playing six non-yellow non-locomotive cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alina Volana
Norway
flag msg tools
Interesting clarification.

However, in relation to the question of this topic, Nordic does still set the precedent for substituting the locomotive slot of ferry routes by using multiple normal train cards. Also, the special route does allow any 4 as wild, so that part was also introduced in Nordic in a limited capacity. UK simply reintroduced those rules and applied them to everything, rather than limiting them to certain routes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.