If I intentionally lose against a hazard are the effects of any aging cards that were played (e.g. -1 life, -2 life) cancelled? It seems that the answer is no and they must be applied but it's not totally clear to me. Thank you!
The rules for these cards say simply, "At the end of the fight you must pay 1 [or 2] (additional) life point to the reserve, even if you win the fight."
There is nothing there to suggest that it does not apply when you lose.
In fact, the clause, "even if you win the fight," suggests that readers might think that the penalty applies only when you lose and serves to emphasize that it applies universally.