Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dragons of Kir» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule question: Dragon moves into influence of cloud & lotus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Harding
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a situation tonight where a dragon moves into a space between and under the influence of both a cloud and a lotus.

L---C
--D-- Dragon is to move up between the (C)loud and (L)otus
-----


Both the cloud and the lotus are pulling/pushing to the left and both are the same distance from the dragon and thus have the same influence score. What is the resolution? We played that as both the cloud and the lotus had the same effect the resolution was to move the dragon 1 space to the left.

LD--C
-----
-----

However, reading the rules explicitly seems to suggest that when no tile has precedent then the dragon is unaffected and there therefore seems to be an argument here that the dragon should simply move forward and ignore both the cloud and the lotus effect even though they are both moving in the same direction and so aren't really conflicting each other but offering the same move.

L-D-C
-----
-----

We also discussed the idea that perhaps both influences occur and that the dragon is pushed twice to the left, destroying the lotus in the process, but that seemed contrary to logic.

D---C
-----
-----

Help!

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dove Byrne
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule question: Dragon moves into influence of cloud & lo
Example #1

[1] Three squares separate the lotus (petal or flower) and the wind (single or multi). [2] The dragon moves up into the middle square which is under the influence of both tiles. From the rules: "The nearest tile in the direction which holds the greatest influence affects the dragon". [3] The lotus is in the direction which holds the greatest influence, so it pulls the dragon one square to the left (the dragon is three squares away from the wind and is out of its range of influence).

1.
L — — — W
— — D — —

2.
L — D — W
— — — — —

3.
L D — — W
— — — — —

Example #2

[1] One square separates the lotus petal (not a lotus flower) and the wind (single or multi). [2] The dragon moves up into the middle square which is under the influence of both tiles. [3] The lotus pulls the dragon one square to the left on top of the lotus (removed at end of turn). [4] This movement activates the wind which pushes the dragon another square to the left. [5] Remove the destroyed lotus petal.

1.
— L — W —
— — D — —

2.
— L D W —
— — — — —

3.
— D — W —
— — — — —

4.
D L — W —
— — — — —

5.
D — — W —
— — — — —

Example #3

[1] One square separates the lotus flower (not petal) and the wind (single or multi). [2] The dragon moves up into the middle square which is under the influence of both tiles. [3] The lotus pulls the dragon one square to the left on top of the lotus (removed at end of turn). [4] This movement activates the wind which pushes the dragon another square to the left. [5] This movement activates the lotus flower (multi-directional) which pulls the dragon to the right on top of the lotus. [6] This movement activates the wind which blows the dragon to the left (again). [7] This movement activates the lotus flower which pulls the dragon to the right on top of the lotus (again). This interaction has created a loop of never-ending movement. The dragon is now in the square in which the loop began (pushed by the wind, pulled by the lotus), so that is where the dragon stays. [8] Remove the destroyed lotus flower.

1.
— L — W —
— — D — —

2.
— L D W —
— — — — —

3.
— D — W —
— — — — —

4.
D L — W —
— — — — —

5.
— D — W —
— — — — —

6.
D L — W —
— — — — —

7.
— D — W —
— — — — —

8.
— D — W —
— — — — —
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Example #1 is still confusing me:

dove wrote:
Example #1

[1] Three squares separate the lotus (petal or flower) and the wind (single or multi). [2] The dragon moves up into the middle square which is under the influence of both tiles. From the rules: "The nearest tile in the direction which holds the greatest influence affects the dragon". [3] The lotus is in the direction which holds the greatest influence, so it pulls the dragon one square to the left (the dragon is three squares away from the wind and is out of its range of influence).


What does "the greatest influence" mean here? Both the lotus and the wind move a dragon one space, and the dragon is exactly between them - I admit that I don't get why the lotus 'wins'. Then Example #2 and #3 flow from that - the lotus always moves first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dove Byrne
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Rule question: Dragon moves into influence of cloud & lo
"The greatest influence" is in reference to the direction in which the tiles are trying to move the dragon. In example #1, the influence of the lotus is trying to move the dragon toward it (to the left) and the influence of the wind is trying to move the dragon away from it (also to the left). The left is "the direction which holds the greatest influence". So the nearest tile to the left, the lotus, is the tile which affects the dragon. This detail comes into play in example #2, in which, after the lotus petal (single direction) affects the dragon, the dragon is still under the influence of the wind and therefore the wind moves the dragon an additional space away from it (to the left). Example #3 is similar to #2 but involves a lotus flower (multi-directional) and a loop is created.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.