GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,493 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » General

Subject: First Play - Fun Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott YahNotHappening
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmb
Got Forbidden Stars as a Christmas Present, and waited exactly 1 day to get it to the table. Ended up gaming with friends that I've been playing with for 20 years. These guys are gamers, and we had been playing too many co-ops and not enough pvp games. Needless to say, we were all excited to get to blow each other up.

I'll just say, we messed up several rules. 1st, we misread the Dominate ability and thought we got the material as well as the assets, and screwed that up for 2 rounds. We also screwed up getting Material in the cleanup phase, so they sort of offset.

Secondly, we screwed up Reinforcements, allowing the player to roll the extra dice for the units they brought in. That went into the 3rd round before someone found the rule that stated otherwise.

Those were the 2 biggies, but we pushed through and finished an 8 round game that came down to a 3-2-2-2 finish in 7 hours. I think our next play will be closer to 4 hours, as we spent a ton of time looking up rules, debating what was allowed, etc.

Even with the screw ups, the game was an absolute blast and if it hadn't of been 3am when we finished we would have immediately played another game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Kaemmer
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to the Family! It really is a game chock full of blowy-uppy goodness.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's brilliant, and lots of opportunities to screw each other over.

Gets much faster as you become familiar. Our last two 3-player sessions both finished in Round 2.
 Thumb up
 tip