GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,203 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Possible to modify old air hockey table to gaming table? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christoph Roesch
United States
Hutto
Texas
flag msg tools
Hello Everyone,

I have been going through posts and websites on cheap gaming tables. I was checking Craigslist for free tables that I could use and found a listing of an old free air hockey table. Although I have no experience in wood working I wonder if it could probably be modified with little experience. Hopefully the picture from the ad uploaded correctly.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just some felt or perhaps thin neoprene rubber over the surface and edges and your set.

You'll want stools for sitting though I imagine as the gap under the table looks too low to tuck chairs (and legs) under.

Also depending on the table it may slope slightly from the middle, so won't be level which could affect some games.

We use a pool dining table which is shallow enough to get dining chairs under. My wife crocheted large pool balls to stuff in the pockets so no game pieces/dice get lost in the mechanism. So you'll probably want to make sure tokens can't get lost in the puck slots.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
maf man
United States
endeavor
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just depends on what level of quality your ok with and the table itself.
I also got a hockey table off craigslist, but choose to clean and get it working again.
Mine wouldn't need much to change into a gaming table I would be happy with. So if yours is similar to mine:
Any type of handheld wood cutting tool could be used to cut the sides to bring the bottom up for better leg room.