The Gryphon rules are as follows (I bolded the confusing part):
If the player with the most CP for this Outlaw
has fewer than 5 CP more than the player with
the second most CP for this Outlaw, the reward is shared among the player with the most CP for this Outlaw and all players with no fewer than 4 CP for this Outlaw than the player with the most CP for this Outlaw.
Does this mean that when the second most CP is within 5CP of the most CP then:
- all players within
5 4CP of the 'leader's' CP amount share in the money
This. It says that if 2nd place is withing 4 (or fewer than 5), then all players within 4 of the leader can score.
The wording was the the same in the RGG version of the rules and just as confusing, especially since they switch between "fewer than 5" and "no fewer than 4" which are functionally the same but confusing as can be when your eye is drawn just to the numbers.
What you have in bold also makes more sense when you continue taking the rest of the sentence and see that it is "no fewer than 4 CP for this Outlaw than the player with the most CP for this Outlaw."
So what it boils down to is if you run away with it, you keep all the points for this outlaw. If anyone is within 4 of the leader, then they share. I don't know why they highlight just 2nd, because just 2nd isn't really the criteria. It is anyone within that close to the leader, whether 2nd or all players.