GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,574 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: April question (spoilers through end of April) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Does a quarantine marker prevent cities from becoming faded? (Specific case: we had a quarantined city with 3 yellow cubes when the "faded" legacy card came up. When the infection card for that city came up we just removed the quarantine marker but did not convert the cubes to faded nor applied the faded sticker. Was that correct? (Actually, we were able to prevent any faded from appearing by quarantining yellow with the Quarantine specialist. We were lucky that only one or two yellow infection cards ever made an appearance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Yep, you're playing correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, but here is the conundrum:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The logic seems to be as follows: a quarantine marker prevents the placement of a cube (or Faded figure), and therefore the city does not become Faded. We are making an implicit assumption here that the trigger for a Faded sticker is actual placement of a Faded figure, and prevented placements do not count. However, if prevented placements do not count, then we must accept that a 3-cube COdA city that outbreaks also does not become Faded (the rules clearly state to not add a cube to 3-cube cities using exactly the same language as for quarantines). And that just seems wrong... Bottom line is that I see three interpretations of the rules:

1. Faded sticker requires actual placement of a cube (Faded figure). Problem: 3-cube cities that outbreak do not become Faded, which is thematically very wrong.

2. Faded sticker goes on even when the placement of a cube (Faded figure) is prevented (e.g. because of an outbreak or quarantine).

3. Faded sticker has different requirements for outbreaks and quarantine markers. In case of quarantines, prevention of a placement of an extra marker also prevents the Faded sticker, but in the other case it does not.

Is there anything in the rules to favor one of these over the others?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United Kingdom
Fleet
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rbelikov wrote:
Thanks, but here is the conundrum:
Spoiler (click to reveal)

1. Faded sticker requires actual placement of a cube (Faded figure). Problem: 3-cube cities that outbreak do not become Faded, which is thematically very wrong.

2. Faded sticker goes on even when the placement of a cube (Faded figure) is prevented (e.g. because of an outbreak or quarantine).

3. Faded sticker has different requirements for outbreaks and quarantine markers. In case of quarantines, prevention of a placement of an extra marker also prevents the Faded sticker, but in the other case it does not.

Is there anything in the rules to favor one of these over the others?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
3 is correct. It helps if you think about it thematically. With the QM you are taking proactive steps to prevent the spread of the disease, i.e no faded appear, and the city remains free of brain munching zombie evil!

In an OB the disease has become so rampant in the current city that it travels to neighbouring countries/cities, so the OB city becomes faded (along with all cities the Outbreak spread to).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Spoiler (click to reveal)
So is this also true when a faded city outbreaks? Will an adjacent city that currently has a quarantine marker not become faded? Normally I would think this should be the way it is played and it is also how I understand the new rule about outbreaks from faded cities but I just want to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
therobbot wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
So is this also true when a faded city outbreaks? Will an adjacent city that currently has a quarantine marker not become faded?

Spoiler (click to reveal)
I reckon the Quarantine marker will prevent the city from fading during an outbreak, yes.

...but only once. In a chain-reaction outbreak, one outbreak could strip it of the Quarantine marker then another infect and fade it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks. This is how I would find it sensible as well. Has this been confirmed officially somewhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
I've not seen your precise question answered anywhere, but the May section of the FAQ gives an officially-confirmed answer to a very similar one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks. I will have a look once we get there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.