According to 10.2.5, an F2 or F3 Fort is downgraded one level if captured, and an F1 Fort is removed.
(I understand “Captured” as having their defender being defeated in battle.)
But if the attacker is strong enough (7:1 odds), what looks like a surrender, any Fort is automatically removed (11.1.1)… In this situation, an F3 Fort is destroyed, not captured !
Although it could be more desirable in some situations to destroy the Fort to prevent the enemy from benefitting from its capture, I cant ‘see any rationale behind this? Is it to encourage defenders to keep a strong garrison in large Forts?
Last edited Fri Jan 1, 2016 5:36 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
I believe the intent is that an automatic displacement (rule 11.1.2) is the same as having fought a battle and won, except there are no die rolls and no consulting the combat results table. Therefore, if a Lvl 1 fort were defeated via automatic displacement, it would be removed since it was captured. And a Lvl2/Lvl3 fort that was defeated via auto displacement would be downgraded and captured, not completely removed.
This would be a good item for the errata.
Edit: I'll post your question over at ConsimWorld. Mark seems to be more active over there.
Last edited Fri Jan 1, 2016 5:22 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)