The Brown Lands is in the staging area (threat = 5, quest points = 1).
I commit Northern Tracker to the quest.
A Frightened Beast is revealed during staging:
When Revealed: Each player raises his threat by the total Threat of all cards in the staging area. Any player may choose to discard from play 1 Creature ally card he controls to cancel this effect.
If a location ever has as many progress tokens as it has quest points, that location is considered EXPLORED and is discarded from play.
The rulebook quote appears in the Travel phase, after Quest, and of course Quest includes Staging. But despite where it appears, I think it is still correct that The Brown Lands has been explored and discarded during the Commit Characters step of the Quest phase and I don't have to raise my threat by 5. Agree or disagree?