Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
Suppose I court a daughter in my tableau that is currently married to a foreign species. Suppose further that in the combat phase, I successfully kill the jealous foreign husband. The living rules say:
If the courtship is contested, a hunter in his own tableau must compete for her hand like everyone else, with no "home court" advantage. If successful, he starts immature.
Clearly I must compete for her hand and need a "1" or "2" to succeed. What if I roll a "6"? My own tribe throws that suitor off the cliff (or, more likely, the daughter kills him in his sleep)?