Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fury of Dracula (third/fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are Sea Locations never revealed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Truce Idares
South Africa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
So Sea Locations are never revealed (flipped face up)? Even if a hunter moves into a sea location Dracula was just in or Dracs moves into a sea location a Hunter is in?

I find it odd and wanted to see if I'm missing anything. No wonder people complain about Pirate Dracula.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin O'Brien
Scotland
Falkirk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are not missing anything. From the Rules Reference, page 11 under Sea:

If a hunter is in a sea zone that is a hideout, Dracula does not reveal that location card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Idares wrote:
So Sea Locations are never revealed (flipped face up)?


ALMOST never. Event card:

MONEY TRAIL
Play as an action.
Choose a sea location card on the trail.
Dracula must reveal that card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Turner
Australia
Melbourne
VIC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think there is a card in the new edition that calls for Dracula to reveal his location if it is adjacent to the city location the hunter's select.

Given a sea location is by definition "a location" then it stands to reason that if a port city is selected, and Dracula is in the sea location adjacent to that port, then he must reveal his location at that stage too.

I must confess, I had assumed (from my 2nd edition roots) that it meant only adjacent city locations, but as worded I believe the card does reveal sea locations, whether or not that was the designer's intention.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Maunder
Wales
Newcastle Emlyn
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you could use Newspaper Reports to reveal a sea location if it is in the 3rd, 5th or 6th location spots or Local Rumors if a hunter was in a port adjacent to a sea card Dracula had placed previously?

edited due to error
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randal Divinski
United States
Natick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hammerste1n wrote:
So you could use Newspaper Reports to reveal a sea location if it is in the 3rd, 5th or 6th location spots or Local Rumors if a hunter was in a port adjacent to a sea card Dracula had placed previously?

edited due to error

Agreed. MONEY TRAIL, NEWSPAPER REPORTS, and LOCAL RUMORS are the three ways that SEA LOCATIONS may be revealed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.