Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Denis Davydov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played Eldritch Horror for the first time today (better later than never , and got a couple of questions.

1. Lily's Chen ability says: "When you improve a skill, you may immediately improve this skill again".
Does this mean that she just gets a 2-point level up token instead of a 1-point, as other investigators do? Or is there some kind of a trick?

2. The Clairvoyance spell allows to encounter a clue during the Encounter phase. Is it possible, being in a location with a monster, to use this spell => encounter a clue in some other place => then fight against the monster in the current place => then, if successful, encounter something in the current space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Aubert
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DeriusDen wrote:

1. Lily's Chen ability says: "When you improve a skill, you may immediately improve this skill again".
Does this mean that she just gets a 2-point level up token instead of a 1-point, as other investigators do? Or is there some kind of a trick?


Technically, yes.
Now to play correctly, you should first add the +1 skill, then turn it to its +2 side. Meaning that if there is an effect like "When someone improves a skill, do 'XXX'.", the XXX effect will happens twice.

Quote:

2. The Clairvoyance spell allows to encounter a clue during the Encounter phase. Is it possible, being in a location with a monster, to use this spell => encounter a clue in some other place => then fight against the monster in the current place => then, if successful, encounter something in the current space?


Nope : Clairevoyance allow you to encounter a clue as if you were on this space when encountering your location.
So if you are in allocation with a monster you can only cast clairevoyance after defeating all monsters on your location.
Good new is that you don't have to encounter the monsters on the clue location if any.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(EDIT: Good job ninja-ing Hankroyd !)

Yes, Lily gets a two-point level up token.

Regarding the spell, only one encounter is allowed per character turn, so, no, can't encounter a spell, then fight a monster, then have a second encounter in the same turn.

Interesting question: can the Clairvoyance spell be cast from a location with a monster?

I think probably you must fight the monster first. Then if you defeat it, you could use clairvoyance to encounter a clue at a different location.

But I have been wrong plenty of times before !

Chick
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis Davydov
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the official FaQ ...

QQ. Can the Clairvoyance Spell allow an investigator to ignore
Monsters on his space?

AA. No. The Clairvoyance Spell’s effect allows an investigator
to choose to encounter a Clue on another space. The
investigator is considered to be on that space for all effects
during that encounter.

... This is a good link for players as well ...

>>> https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1296806/official-clarif...

... Still my #1 game!!! ... Walts
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.