Matt Henderson
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scout Pins another Scout at the beginning of a game. On the activation phase, can the scout that is pinning a disk make a ranged attack against another disk within its range?

I scoured the rulebook and FAQ and have not found anything on it. Please point it out if I missed it. Thanks!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R H
United States
Bethany
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

The rules don't specifically say you cannot do it, and this rule below leads me to say you can.

Pg 19, Ranged Combat:

Ranged Combat
• A disk can make a ranged attack against a disk that it is pinning.

It doesn't say 'can only make' it just clarifies it CAN make it against the disk it is pinning. So, yes, it should be able to make a ranged attack against another disk, within range.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GUILLERMO LONGHINI
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
yes but NO

a Scout disk cannot pins any disk at the begining of the game.

but yeah, a disk can make a ranged attack to any disk, not only the pinned
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Henderson
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ringokidd wrote:
yes but NO

a Scout disk cannot pins any disk at the begining of the game.

but yeah, a disk can make a ranged attack to any disk, not only the pinned


Would you mind posting the source for both your comments? So I can pass the ruling along. I saw nothing about the scout not being able to pin anything in either the rules or FAQ and I did a search of every use of the word scout and pinned...

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Bottorff
msg tools
mb
It's on pg 21 in the description of 'scout'.

"The disk cannot overlap or deal damage to an enemy during this move."

You can't pin an enemy without overlapping them.

Also, to confirm his words, a disk can make a ranged attack while pinning enemies.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Henderson
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect! Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heiko Günther
Germany
Saarbrücken
Saarland
flag msg tools
designer
Coming soon: Peak Oil Spillover!
badge
I spent 100 GG so you can read this.
Avatar
ringokidd wrote:
yes but NO

a Scout disk cannot pins any disk at the begining of the game.

but yeah, a disk can make a ranged attack to any disk, not only the pinned

This only applies if the Scout is not placed regularly in a deployment zone, but while using their Scout ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.