Itsvan N
msg tools
Hey,

I am currently trying to get a first idea about how the board of my future game would should be designed. The game is in a medieval setting, and the board includes a map, and many smaller elements -some tracks, some small 'rules reminders', and some cards spots (for displaying different decks of cards, etc.).
Since the game is a solitaire one, I have quite an important use of cards sorted in different decks (in order to simulate the different ways that the AI interacts with the player).

Here comes my question : regarding the design of the board, I could include there some of the cards spots (for placing the most important decks) on the board, but probably not all of them. Does it make sense to have some cards spaces 'integrated' on the board, and some cards that have to be displayed outside of the board? Or, should then better be all the decks placed outside of the game board?

Maybe it does sound stupid -but I am not experienced in this sort of things, and I was wondering whether this is obviously something to avoid, or not automatically.

Thanks,
F.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ava Jarvis
United States
Bainbridge Island
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I highly recommend looking at published games that use a lot of cards and seeing what they do, and whether it works from a player's perspective. For instance,

Arkham Horror
Eldritch Horror
Runebound 2nd Edition
Runebound 3rd Edition
Darkest Night (especially with expansions)
Shadows Over Brimstone

etc.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Taylor
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you've limited space on the board, perhaps you could have spaces at the edge showing where to put some or all of the decks.

The only example I can think of offhand is Pax Pamir, where the board is marked to show where to put the market cards: